Sportstar Aces Awards: Shaw, Deepa Malik among contenders for jury awards

The jury comprises a list of eminent former India sportspersons who will reveal the winners of the various awards.

(L to R): The Sportstar Aces jury comprises MM Somaya, Anjali Bhagwat, Sunil Gavaskar, Anju Bobby George, and N Ram.   -  VIVEK BENDRE

While we let fans decide the winners in the Popular Awards category of Sportstar Aces, an eminent jury comprised of former India cricket captain Sunil Gavaskar, who is its chairman; former India hockey captain M. M. Somaya; Olympian shooter Anjali Bhagwat; Olympian long jumper Anju Bobby George; and N. Ram, chairman of The Hindu Group, will select the deserving winners from a carefully curated list of young athletes, teams, coaches and parathletes.

In the Young Athlete (male) category, swimmer Srihari Nataraj, shuttler Lakshya Sen and cricketer Prithvi Shaw are in contention. Shooter Manu Bhaker, cricketer Jemimah Rodrigues and pugilist Nitu are the talents who grabbed our attention in the female category.

READ: Sportstar Aces Awards: The countdown begins

Parathletes Deepa Malik, Ekta Bhyan and Manasi Joshi showed tremendous grit and determination to win laurels for India in international competitions, as did male parathletes Suyash Jadhav, Manoj Sarkar and Sundar Singh Gurjar. We have tried our best to showcase their exemplary efforts through the awards.

Meanwhile, the 2017-18 and 2018-19 Ranji Trophy champion Vidarbha, Super Cup winner Bengaluru FC and IPL title holder Chennai Super Kings fight for the honours in the Team of the Year category.

The Coach of the Year category has cricket legend Rahul Dravid, chief badminton coach Pullela Gopi Chand and table tennis coach Massimo Costantini vying for honours.

The winners will be announced at the Sportstar Aces Awards ceremony in Mumbai on February 14.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :