National archery: Akshay Thete, W. Malesori Devi emerge champions

The National archery championships concluded at the Barabati Stadium on Sunday.

Representative Image: Akshay Thete defeated T. Langma Meitei in the final. Photo: AFP

Akshay Thete and W. Malesori Devi emerged as the champions in the men and women sections of Indian style on the concluding day of the National archery championships at the Barabati Stadium here on Sunday.

Verma, Jyothi top ranking rounds

Abhishek Verma and V. Jyothi Surekha retained their top positions after eight 50m ranking rounds of the compound selection trials at the KIIT University ground here on Sunday.

Verma (2829), Rajat Chauhan (2825) and Bhagwan Das (2800) claimed the three elite spots among men. Jyothi (2801), Muskan Kirar (2774) and Swati Dudhwal (2772) were the best among women after the ranking phase.

The one-on-one round robin matches among top 12 men and women will be held on Monday.

  • Individual
  • Men : Final: Akshay Thete (Mah) bt T. Langma Meitei (Mani) 6-2; Third place: Gaurav Chandne (Mah) bt Gunram Purty (Jha) 6-0.
  • Women: Final: W. Malesori Devi (Mani) bt Pallabi Boro (Asm) 6-4; Third place: Pallabi Das (AIP) bt Dipti Kumari (Jha) 6-4.
  • Team
  • Men: Jharkhand bt Arunachal Pradesh 4-4 (28-27); Third place: Uttar Pradesh bt Kerala 6-2.
  • Women: Final: Jharkhand bt Manipur 5-3; Third place: AIP bt Gujarat 6-2.
  • Mixed: Final: Jharkhand bt AIP 5-3; Third place: Manipur bt Gujarat 4-4 (tie-breaker 20-17).
For more updates, follow Sportstar on :
Download Sportstar App
Download Sportstar App
 Pen, Paper and Podcast with Vijay Lokapally
Connect With Us