Asian Games Day 8: Indians in action

Star athlete Hima Das will be eyeing a medal as she competes in the final on Day 8 after breaking the national record in Women's 400m qualifiers on Saturday.

Hima Das after competing in the the women's 400m heats at the 18th Asian Games 2018 in Jakarta on Saturday.   -  PTI

India saw a perfect start to its athletics campaign at the 18th Asian Games as shot-putter Tajinderpal Singh Toor pocketed gold on Saturday. Notwithstanding Tajinder's record victory and three bronze medals by the squash trio of Joshna Chinappa, Dipika Pallikal and Saurav Ghosal, it has been a relatively dull day for India at the Games.

At present, India is placed at the eighth position on the leaderboard with seven gold, five silver and 17 bronze medals.

Meanwhile, Hima Das also broke the national record in the Women's 400m qualifiers on Saturday and would be out hunting for a medal in the final on day eight.

Both P.V. Sindhu and Saina Nehwal will be eyeing victory as they both face Thai opponents in the quarterfinals on Sunday. 

Here is the complete schedule of India's events on Sunday in IST.



Compound Men’s Team- 1/8 eliminations (09:20am): India vs Qatar (Abhishek Verma, Aman Saini, Rajat Chauhan)

Compound Women’s Team- Quarterfinals (12:10pm): India vs TBD (Jyoti Surekha Vennam, Madhumita Kumari, Muskan Kirar)



Women’s 400m Hurdles Qualification (09:00am): Jauna Murmu, Anu Raghavan

Men’s 400m Hurdles Qualification (09:30am): Santhosh Kumar Tamilarasan, Dharun Ayyasamy

Women’s 100m Semifinal (05:00pm): Dutee Chand

Men’s Long Jump Final (05:10pm): Sreeshankar

Women’s 400m Final (05:30pm): Hima Das, Nirmla

Men’s 10,000m Final (05:50pm): Lakshmanan Govindan



Women’s Singles Quarterfinals (12:15pm): Saina Nehwal vs Ratchanok Intanon (Thailand) (12:15pm), P.V. Sindhu vs Jindapol Nitchaon (Thailand) (01:45pm)



Men’s Light (60 kg) Round of 16 (05:45pm): Shiva Thapa vs Jun Shan (China)

Men’s Welter (69 kg) Round of 16 (02:15pm): Manoj Kumar vs Abdurakhman Abdurakhmanov (Kyrgyzstan)

Women’s Fly (51 kg) Round of 16 (03:00pm): Sarjubala Devi Shamjetsabam vs Madina Ghaforova (Tajikistan)



Men’s Team Semifinals 1 (08:00am), 2 (12:00pm) and 3 (02:45pm): Jaggy Shivdasani, Rajeshwar Tewari, Ajay Khare, Raju Tolani, Debabrata Majumder, Sumit Mukherjee

Mixed Team Semifinals 1 (08:00am), 2 (12:00pm) and 3 (02:45pm): Kiran Nadar, Hema Deora, Himani Khandelwal, Bachiraju Satyanarayana, Gopinath Manna, Rajeev Khandelwal



Canoe TBR 500m Women Heats (08:30am): Menu, Sushila Chanu Shoibam, Rajeshwari, Ramkanya Dangi, Manisha Rani, Neetu Verma, Yaiphabi Devi Oinam, Dimita Devi Toijam, Shamashakhi Devi Yumnam, Sanjana Singh, Sarju Devi Konjengbam, Mansoori Nazis, Manju, Kirti Kewat, Aarti Nath, Thajamanbi Chanu Phairembam

Canoe TBR 500m Men Heats (08:50am): Satypal Tomar, Ravinder Singh, Arun Nandal, Dilip Singh Negi, Ankit Pachori, Parminder Singh, Hari Om Kurmi, Heisnam Nganba Meitei, Manjeet Singh, Kiran Singh Moirangthem, Manmohan Dangi, Bijender Singh, Suraj Singh Negi, Sachin Kumar, Abhay Singh



Men’s Individual Round 4 (04:30am): Hari Mohan Singh (09:30am), Kshitij Naveed Kaul (09:40am), Aadil Bedi (09:50am), Rayhan John Thomas (10:00am)

Men’s Team Round 4 (04:30am): Hari Mohan Singh, Kshitij Naveed Kaul, Aadil Bedi, Rayhan John Thomas

Women’s Individual Round 4 (04:30am): Ridhima Dilawari (08:30am), Sifat Sagoo (08:50am), Diksha Dagar (09:00am)

Women’s Team Round 4 (04:30am): Ridhima Dilawari, Sifat Sagoo, Diksha Dagar



Men’s Main Round (09:30am): India vs Chinese Taipei



Men’s Tournament Pool A (04:30pm): India vs Republic of Korea



49er Men Race 6 (10:30am), 7 and 8: Ashok Thakkar Varun, Ganapathy Kelapanda Chengappa

49er FX Women Race 6 (10:35am), 7 and 8: Gautham Varsha, Shervegar Sweta

Laser Radial Race 6 (10:35am), 7 and 8: Nethra Kumanan

Open Laser 4.7 Race 6 (10:40am), 7 and 8: Govind Bairagi, Harshita Tomar

Mixed RS One Race 6 (10:44am), 7 and 8: Dayne Edgar Agnelo Coelho, Katya Ida Coelho



Men’s Regu Preliminary Group B (08:30am): India vs Malaysia

Men’s Regu Preliminary Group B (02:30pm) - India vs China



Skeet Women Qualification Day 2 (06:30am): Rashmi Rathore, Ganemat Sekhon

Skeet Men Qualification Day 2 (07:30am): Angad Vir Singh Bajwa, Sheeraz Sheikh



Women’s Team Preliminary Round Group A (08:30am) - India vs Qatar

Women’s Team Preliminary Round Group A (12:30pm) - India vs China

Women’s Team Preliminary Round Group A (4:30pm) - India vs Iran

Men’s Team Preliminary Round Group D (02:30pm) - India vs UAE

Men’s Team Preliminary Round Group D (06:30pm) - India vs Chinese Taipei



Men’s Group match (11:00am) - India vs Japan

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.