Asian Games Day 9: Indians in action

P.V. Sindhu and Saina Nehwal will look to advance to the final in the women's singles badminton, while Athletics will have fourteen Indians featuring across eight different finals.

Vikas Krishan will be in action in the men's 75kg category. (File Photo)   -  Getty Images

After Muhammed Anas, Dutee Chand and Hima Das won silver medals in athletics, India will look to add to that tally when fourteen athletes will feature across eight finals in track and field events on Day Nine. P.V. Sindhu and Saina Nehwal have secured a medal by entering the semifinals of the women's singles badminton, but will be aiming for a spot in the final to compete for a first Asian Games gold.

After beating defending champion South Korea 4-1 on Saturday, Rani Rampal-led India women's hockey team will face Thailand in its final Pool B match on Monday. Below is the list of India's events on Day 9 (IST).

Day 9: Live Blog


Women’s long jump final (5:10 pm): Neena Varakil, James Nayana

Men's Javelin Throw final (5:15 pm): Neeraj Chopra, Shivpal Singh

Women's 400m Hurdles final (5:15 pm): Jauna Murmu, Anu Raghavan

Men's 400m Hurdles final (5:30 pm): Dharun Ayyasamy, Santhosh Tamilarasan

Men's High Jump final (5:30 pm): Chethan Balasubramanya

Women's 3000m Steeplechase final (5:45 pm): Sudha Singh, Chinta

Men's 3000m Steeplechase final (6:00 pm): Shankar Lal Swami

Men's 800m qualification (6:35 pm): Jinson Johnson, Manjit Singh



Women’s single semifinals (10:30 am onwards):

Saina Nehwal vs Tai Tzu-ying [Chinese Taipei]

P.V. Sindhu vs Akane Yamaguchi [Japan]



Men's Light Fly (49kg) Round of 16 (5:15 pm): Amit Phangal vs Enkhmandakh Kharkhuu [Mongolia]

Men's Bantam (56kg) Round of 16 (6:15 pm): Mohammad Hussamuddin vs Enkh-Amar Kharkhuu[Mongolia]

Men’s Light Welter (64kg) Round of 16 (7:00 pm): Dheeraj Rangi vs Nurlan Kobashev [Kyrgyzstan]

Men’s Middle (75kg) Round of 16 (3:00 pm): Vikas Krishan vs Tanveer Ahmed [Pakistan]



Canoe TBR 1000m Men Heats (8:30 am onwards): Indian Team - Satypal Tomar, Ravinder Singh, Arun Nandal, Dilip Singh Negi, Ankit Pachori, Parminder Singh, Hari Om Kurmi, Heisnam Nganba Meitei, Manjeet Singh, Kiran Singh Moirangthem, Manmohan Dangi, Bijender Singh, Suraj Singh Negi, Sachin Kumar, Abhay Singh


Equestrian (6:30 am onwards)

Jumping Individual Qulaification: Kevic Kaevaan Setalvad, Nukala Chetan Reddy, Kevic Zahan Setalvad

Jumping Team Qualification: India



Women’s Pool B (12:30 pm): India vs Thailand



Men’s 75kg Round of 16 (8:15 am): Sharath Kumar Jayendran vs Muil Kim

Men’s 84kg Quarterfinal (12:48 pm): Vishal vs TBD



Men’s Regu Preliminary Group B match (9:30 am): India vs Nepal



Men’s Team Pool B (11:00 am): India vs Indonesia (Indian Men’s Team: Saurav Ghosal, Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu, Ramit Tandon, Mahesh Mangaonkar)

Men’s Team Pool B (5:00 pm): India vs Singapore

Women’s Team Pool B (11:00 am): India vs Iran (Indian Women’s Team: Dipika Pallikal Karthik, Joshana Chinappa, Sanayna Kuruvilla, Tanvi Khanna)


Table Tennis

Men’s Team Group D (10:30 am): India vs Macau

Men’s Team Group D (2:30 pm): India vs Vietnam

Women’s Team Quarterfinals (4:30 pm)

Men’s Team Quarterfinals: (6:30 pm)



Women’s Team Pool B(11:00 am): India vs China



Men’s +100kg Group A (12:30 pm)

Women’s +75kg Group A (3:30 pm)

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.