World Championship: Eight Indians in singles competition

Rituparna Das, Tanvi Lad, P. V. Sindhu and Saina Nehwal in the women's singles and Sameer Verma, Ajay Jayaram, Kidambi Srikanth and Sai Praneeth in the men's singles have qualified for the World Championship.

World No. 5 P. V. Sindhu will be one of the favourites to win the World Championship.   -  Sandeep Saxena

Eight Indians — four men and four women — have been qualified in the women's and men's singles competitions in next month's World Championship.

India achieved its full quota of four women’s singles players with National champion Rituparna Das, Tanvi Lad, P. V. Sindhu and Saina Nehwal booking their berths.

China, Japan and India are the only three countries with four representatives in women’s singles.

In men’s singles, Syed Modi International champion Sameer Verma secured his place alongside compatriots Ajay Jayaram, Kidambi Srikanth and Sai Praneeth.

Other countries with four qualifiers in men’s singles are China, Denmark and Hong Kong.

China will bank on reigning champion Chen Long (wild card), five-time winner Lin Dan, Shi Yuqi and Tian Houwei, while Denmark’s young prospect Anders Antonsen plays the biggest event of his fledgling career alongside senior compatriots Viktor Axelsen, Jan O Jorgensen and Hans-Kristian Solberg Vittinghus.

Hong Kong, too, has a strong men’s singles squad, with the likes of Ng Ka Long, Wong Wing Ki, Hu Yun and sixth reserve Wei Nan having qualified.

The BWF World Championships will be held in Emirates Arena, Glasgow, from August 21 to 27.

  Dugout videos