Seventh-seeded Sourabh Verma made it to the men’s singles quarterfinal while the fourth-seeded Parupalli Kashyap bowed out of the Hyderabad Open badminton championship at Gachibowli Indoor Stadium here on Thursday.

Sourabh scored a 21-16, 21-11 win in 36 minutes against Chinese Sun Feixiang while, unseeded Loh Kean Yew handed an embarrassing defeat to the the crowd favourite, Kashyap, with a 17-21, 21-15, 21-19 win late in the evening.

Earlier, Ajay Jayaram and Subhankar Dey made it to the quarterfinal with an impressive display.

Sourabh was a far more superior player against an opponent who struggled to get his rythmn. He showed lot of composure the few times Sun tried to make a comeback into the game with some telling smashes.

The Indian looked good as he combined his big smashes with some delectable drops at the net to unsettle the opponent. If Sun thought of coming back into the match in the second game, it was not to be as an unrelenting Sourabh picked points with ease.

Later in the evening, Kashyap’s hopes of being in the race to clinch one major title were dashed by the efficacy of Loh.

The Singaporean rarely conceded a point of a Kashyap smash and was equally good with a far more superior net game.

Though Kashyap scored of big smashes down the line to make it 19-all in the decider raising hopes of a win, soon his backhand landed in the net and another down-the-line smash went out to the delight of the Singaporean.

Important results: Round 16: Men singles: Heo Kwang Hee (Kor) bt Mithun Manjunath (Ind) 10-21, 21-15, 21-13; Kalle Koljonen (Fin) bt Shesar Hiren Rhustavito (Ina) 23-21, 21-15; Loh Kean Yew (Sgp) bt P. Kashyap (Ind) 17-21, 21-15, 21-19; Subhankar Dey (Ind) bt Chico Aura Dwi Wardoyo (Ina) 21-16, 21-15; Sourabh Verma (Ind) bt Sun Fexiang (Chn) 21-16, 21-11; Ajay Jayarram (Ind) bt Jia Wei Tan (Mas) 21-18, 21-13; Bai Yu Peng (Chn) bt Firman Abdul Kholik (Ina) 21-16, 13-21, 21-16; Iskandar Zulkarnain (Mas) bt Ikhsan Leonardo Imanuel Rumbay (Ina) 21-16, 21-15 .

Men’s doubles: M.R. Arjun & Sholk Ramchandran (Ind) bt Chia Wei Jie & Man Wei Chong (Mas) 18-21, 21-13, 21-19; Manu Attri & B. Sumeeth Reddy (Ind) bt Apisuk Inkarat & Viriyangkura Tanupat (Tha) 21-14, 21-8.

Women’s singles: Yeo Jia Min (Sgp) bt Ji Shu Ting (Chn) 21-17, 19-21, 21-15; Pai Yu Po (Tpe) bt Sim Yu Jin (Kor) 21-12, 7-21, 21-15; Zhang Yi Man (Chn) bt Yulia Yosephin Susanto (Ina) 21-15 21-13; Phittayaporn Chaiwan Tha bt Brittney Tam (Can) 21-8 21-11; Natalia Perminova (Rus) bt Lee Ying Ying (Mas) 21-13, 21-14; Porntip Buranprasertsuk (Tha) bt Qi Xuefei (Fra) 21-16, 21-17; Benyapa Aimsaard (Tha) bt Ch. Sai Uttejitha Rao (Ind) 21-10, 9-21, 21-8; An Se Young (Kor) bt Aakarshi Kashyap (Ind) 21-18, 21-13.

Women’s doubles: Ashwini Ponnappa & N. Sikki Reddy bt Chasinee Korepap & Kwanchanok Sudjaipraparat (Tha) 21-19, 21-16; J. Meghana & Poorvisha S. Ram (Ind) bt Hendahewa Thilini Pramodika & Sirimannage Kavidi (SL) 22-20 21-15.