Junior badminton Nationals: Focus on Gayatri Gopi Chand

The fourth All-India National-ranking tournament of the season will serve as one of the selection trials for the Asian junior championships to be held in Suzhou (China) from July 20 to 28.

Gayatri Gopi Chand will be the top seed in girls’ u-19 singles category.   -  GETTY IMAGES

Priyanshu Rajawat of Madhya Pradesh and Telangana’s Gayatri Gopi Chand will be the top seeds in the boys’ and girls’ u-19 singles categories respectively in the Microplex Global-Yonex-Sunrise All-India National-ranking junior (u-19) badminton tournament, which begins at the Nehru Indoor Stadium  from Tuesday.

The fourth All-India National ranking tournament of the season (with events getting over in Jaipur, Bengaluru and Vijayawada) will serve as one of the selection trials for the Asian junior championships to be held in Suzhou (China) from July 20 to 28.

All the top shuttlers, barring the 17-year-old Lakshya Sen, will be taking part in the tournament, which has received over 1,000 entries in all five categories (men’s singles, women’s singles, men’s doubles, women’s doubles and mixed doubles).

At a press conference here on Monday, Ve. Arunachallam, secretary of Tamil Nadu Badminton Association, said: “It will be one of the best-organised tournaments in the country and I hope fans come to the stadium to watch India’s top players in action.”

The main draw will begin on May 23.

The seedings (top five)

Singles: Boys: 1. Priyanshu Rajawat (MP), 2. Maisnam Meiraba (Man), 3. Sai Charan Koya (AP), 4. K. Sathish Kumar (TN), 5. Aakash Yadav (Del).

Girls: 1. Gayatri Gopi Chand, 2. Aakarshi Kashyap (AAI), 3. Malvika Bansod (AAI), 4. Unnati Bisht (Utr), 5. Samiya Imad Farooqui (TS).

Doubles: Boys: 1. Manjit Singh Khairakpam & Dingku Sing Konhoujam (Man), 2. Ishaan Bhatnagar & P. Vishnuvardhan (Chd) Goud (TS), 3. Navaneeth Bokka (TS) & Edwin Joy (Ker), 4. Sankarprasad Udayakumar & Syamprasad Udayakumar (Ker), 5. Yash Raikwar (MP) & Iman Sonowal (Asm).

Girls: 1. V.S. Varshini (TN) & Treesa Jolly (Ker), 2. Aditi Bhatt (Utr) & Tanisha Crasto (Goa), 3. Kavya Gupta & Riya Sachan (Del), 4. Shruti Mishra & Samriddhi Singh (UP), 5. Khushi Gupta & Likhita Srivastava (Del).

Mixed: 1. Navaneeth Bokka & Sahithi Bandi (TS), 2. Edwin Joy (Ker) & Shruti Mishra (UP), 3. Sankarprasad Udayakumar & Nafeesah Sara Siraj (Ker), 4. K. Sathish Kumar (TN) & C.V. Ramya (Kar), 5. Dingku Sing Konthoujam (Man) & Ritika Thaker (Mah).

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

Read the Free eBook

  Dugout videos