New BWF Council elected for 2017-2021

The Badminton World Federation has revamped its council.

The Badminton World Federation (BWF) has welcomed seven new members to the BWF Council and re-elected 11 incumbent BWF Council members during its Annual General Meeting here today.

The newcomers are Tang Jiu Hong (China), Moosa Nashid (Maldives), Battushig Batbold (Mongolia), Danlami Zama Sanchi (Nigeria), Emma Mason (Scotland), Robbert de Kock (Switzerland) and Khunying Patama Leeswadtrakul (Thailand).

Those re-elected to serve another four year tenure are: Wayne Somers (Canada), Nora Perry (England), Etienne Thobois (France), Jassem Kanso (Lebanon), Lim Teong Kiat (Malaysia), Nigel Skelt (New Zealand), Sergey Shakhray (Russia), Ng Yoke Weng (Singapore), Peter Tarcala (Slovakia), David Cabello (Spain) and Chipo Zumburani (Zimbabwe).

These 18 members will join BWF President Poul-Erik H (Denmark), BWF Deputy President Gustavo Salazar Delgado (Peru) and BWF Vice-President of Para-Badminton, Paul Kurzo (Switzerland) on the 27-member body. The above three officials were re- elected unopposed today. The remaining six places on the BWF Council are taken by five continental Vice-Presidents and the Chair of the BWF Athletes’ Commission.

Twenty-six of the original 35 candidates stood for election with eight withdrawals between the close of nominations in late February and the elections. Those withdrawing were: Li Lingwei (China), Mehdi Anvari (Iran), Richard Vaughan (Ireland), Mohamed Al-Amin Haji Abdul Majid (Malaysia), Raj Gaya (Mauritius), Omar Bellali (Morocco), Tukebana Michel Bau (Seychelles) and Professor Ranjit de Silva (Sri Lanka).

The other candidate whose name was removed from the list was former BAI president, the late Dr. Akhilesh Das Gupta of India, who passed away last month.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :