Rajapriyadarshini to lead India in FIBA Asia Cup

The skipper post could be rotated among other players during the course of the FIBA Women's Asia Cup which will be held in Bengaluru.

The Sree Kanteerava Stadium will host the FIBA Women's Asia Cup. (FILE IMAGE)   -  K. Murali Kumar

R. Rajapriyadarshini will lead the Indian team in the FIBA Women’s Asia Cup basketball tournament, which commences at Sree Kanteerava Stadium here on Tuesday. The skipper post could be rotated among other players during the course of the tournament.

India opens its Group ‘A’, Division ‘A’ campaign against defending champion Japan on Tuesday. South Korea and Chinese Taipei are the others teams in the group.

At a press conference here on Sunday, Basketball Federation of India president K. Govindraj announced that the Sree Kanteerava Indoor Stadium received an ‘A’ certificate from the Parliamentary Committee of Government of India earlier this year.

The squad: R. Rajapriyadarshini (captain), Anmolpreet Kaur, Shireen Limaye, Barkha Sonkar, P.U. Navaneetha, P.G. Anjana, H.M. Bhandavya, Jeena Skaria, T. Lopamudra, Madhu Kumar, Shruthi Arvind, Stephy Nixon.

Coach: Zoran Visic. Assistant coaches: Shiba Maggon, Kuldeep Singh Brar.


Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

Read the Free eBook

  Dugout videos