Asian Youth & Junior Boxing C’ships: Shaheen, Nivedita, others win gold

Shaheen Gill, Nivedita Karki and three other Indian women boxers win gold at the ASBC Asian Youth & Junior Boxing Championships.

Nivedita Karki (in blue) punches her opponent in the 48kg final. - SPECIAL ARRANGEMENT

Five Indian women boxers - Shaheen Gill (60kg), Nivedita Karki (48kg), Tamanna (50kg), Ravina (63kg) and Muskan (75kg) - won the gold medal at the ASBC Asian Youth & Junior Boxing Championships in Amman, Jordan, on Monday.

Nivedita clinched a sensational 3-2 win over Uzbekistan’s Saidakhon Rakhmonova in 48kg final. Tamanna won by the same margin in the final against Uzbekistan’s Robiyankhon Bakhtiyorova. Both Nivedita and Tamanna had won a silver medal in the last edition of the tournament. Shaheen and Ravina recorded convincing victories over their respective opponents, both of whom were also from Uzbekistan.

ALSO READ - After world championships, Lovline and Nikhat secure Asian Games selection

Muskan was aggressive against Kazakhstan’s Aidasaribarova, who faced heavy blows on her face before the referee stopped the bout.

Also among Indians, Priyanka and Kirti (+81kg) won silver medals, while Renu (52kg), Tanisha Lamba (54kg), Prachi (57kg), Pranjal Yadav (70kg) and Sneha (81kg) won bronze.

In the junior category, the Indian team won 21 medals, including eight gold, seven silver and six bronze.

Medallists (Youth)
  • Women: (Gold) Nivedita Karki (48kg), Tamanna (50kg), Shaheen Gill (60kg), Ravina (63kg), Muskan (75kg); (Silver) Priyanka (66kg) and Kirti (+81); (Bronze) Renu (52kg), Tanisha Lamba (54kg), Prachi (57kg), Pranjal Yadav (70kg) and Sneha (81kg).

Medallists (Junior)
  • Girls: (Gold) Vini (50kg), Yakshika (52kg), Nikita Chand (60kg), Vidhi (57kg), Shrushti Sathe (63kg), Rudrika (75kg); (Silver) Mahi Siwach (46kg), Palak Zambre (48kg), Supriya Devi Thokchom (54kg), Khushi Pooniya (80kg) and Nirjhara Bana (+80kg); (Bronze) Krisha Verma (70kg)
  • Boys: (Gold) Krrish Pal (46kg), Yashwardhan Singh (60kg); (Silver) Ravi Saini (48kg) and Rishabh Singh Shikharwar (80kg); (Bronze) Jayant Dagar (54kg), Chetan (57kg), Jackson Singh Laishram (70kg), Dev Pratap Singh (75kg), Gaurav Mhaske (+80kg)

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :