Six-time World champion M.C. Mary Kom has decided to skip the Asian women's boxing championships, to be held in Bangkok from April 16 to 27.

Mary, the lone gold medallist from the country in the last edition, will focus on the World championships to be held later this year. The boxing superstar, who grabbed her sixth World title in 48kg last year, needs to switch to 51kg in order to compete in the Worlds, which will serve as an Olympic qualifier.

Even without Mary, the Indian side will feature several Worlds medallist including Sonia Chahal, Sarita Devi, Simranjit Kaur, Lovlina Borgohain and Nikhat Zareen (a former World junior champion).

The women's competition will be held alongside the men's duels for the first time in the history of the continental event.