Amid the structural developments in the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), there is no clarity on the future of the five-member senior selection committee headed by M.S.K. Prasad.

In the old constitution of the BCCI, the selectors had a tenure of four years but the amended constitution — now in effect — has a provision of a maximum five-year term.

While Prasad and Gagan Khoda were appointed in 2015, Jatin Paranjpe, Sarandeep Singh and Devang Gandhi joined in 2016. As per the new constitution, Prasad and Khoda's term ends September 2020; the remaining three could stay till 2021.

Top officials at the BCCI have confirmed to Sportstar that the newly-elected president Sourav Ganguly is likely to discuss the issue with the five selectors. “In the selectors’ contract, there is a clause that their tenure requires renewal at every AGM,” the official said, adding that “with no AGMs held in 2017 and 2018, things appear a bit ambiguous”.

READ| Sourav Ganguly takes charge as BCCI president

After taking charge, Ganguly had said that Prasad and Khoda will be replaced since their term is over. “But the amended constitution gives one more year to the selectors. So, it needs to be seen what the president does,” one of the board officials said.

The selection committee will have to be appointed by the Cricket Advisory Committee, which will be picked during the upcoming AGM of the newly-elected board.

“The new BCCI panel has just taken charge. It will take some time before things are finalised,” the official said.

ALSO READ| Follow Sportstar's ISL 2019-20 live coverage

Prasad, who addressed the media on Thursday to announce the teams for the series against Bangladesh, refused to comment on the issue.

However, Prasad did answer questions on the legacy that his selection panel will leave behind. “This selection committee can proudly say that we have left enough bench-strength in all the departments across all formats,” he said.