BCCI Special Committee to meet on Saturday

BCCI's Special Committee, spearheaded by Rajiv Shukla and Sourav Ganguly, will discuss parts of the Lodha Committee recommendations that need immediate attention.

Sourav Ganguly and Rajeev Shukla after the BCCI Special General Meeting in Mumbai on Monday.   -  PTI

The Special Committee formed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to study the exceptional and limited areas of difficulty in the implementation of the Lodha Committee recommendations, will have its first meeting in New Delhi on Saturday.

The eight-member committee, spearheaded by Rajiv Shukla and Sourav Ganguly, was constituted earlier this week by the BCCI to study the critical points of the Lodha Committee proposals. With the committee slated to submit its report to the Board by July 10, the first meeting will discuss the areas which need immediate attention.

“It is important to get all the members on the same page. That’s what the committee would be aiming at initially and try to figure out a foolproof plan,” a well-placed source, who is in the know of the development, told Sportstar on Friday.

While a seven-member committee was formed earlier, former honorary secretary of the BCCI, Niranjan Shah, has been added as an invitee. This move, Sportstar learns, hasn’t gone down well with some of the BCCI members.

“At a time when the committee plans to discuss about the Lodha committee recommendations, it is ironical that someone who has crossed the age-limit has been added to the group,” a senior official said.

While the members of the committee remain tight-lipped about the agenda of the first meeting, sources indicate that some of the members agree that it is time to implement the Lodha committee recommendations. “While the panel members would be trying to study all the minute details, it is important to try and figure out what it would take to implement the proposals,” a well-placed source said.

With the Supreme Court hearing on the matter fixed on July 14, the Special Committee has to analyse the situation and place a report by next week. Apart from Ganguly, Shukla and Shah, others members are — T.C. Mathew (Kerala), Naba Bhattacharjee (Meghalaya), Jay Shah (Gujarat) and BCCI treasurer Anirudh Chaudhry. Board's honorary acting secretary, Amitabh Choudhary, will be the convenor of the committee.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :