BCCI wants ICC Women C’ship to be ‘Best of Six’ contest

The Indian board has to abide by the “Government of India’s stand on bilateral ties.”

The BCCI cannot give assurances about India playing Pakistan.   -  AP

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has told the International Cricket Council (ICC) that the second edition of the ICC Women Championship should be a ‘Best of Six’ affair among the eight teams “because of the Government of India’s stand on bilateral ties.”

The eight teams in the women championship are Australia, England, New Zealand, West Indies, South Africa, Sri Lanka, India and Pakistan.

Read: BCCI rectifies knockout draw error

It’s quite obvious that India has told the ICC that it will not be able to give any assurance of playing Pakistan. The ICC’s Women’s Committee has been informed about BCCI’s position.

Read: Kohli leads pay rise call for India cricketers

The BCCI has also told the ICC that it will abide by the Government of India’s position on bilateral ties featuring the men’s team. Here again, the BCCI was only conveying its inability to play Pakistan in the ICC World Championship League.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos