Chandimal pleads not guilty to ‘sweet in pocket’ ball-tampering: ICC

Dinesh Chandimal is accused of using sweets to try and alter the condition of the ball, but the Sri Lanka captain pleaded not guilty.

Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal   -  Getty Images

Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal has denied ball-tampering by using sweets and will face a hearing at the conclusion of the ongoing second Test against the West Indies, the International Cricket Council (ICC) said on Sunday.

“Dinesh Chandimal has pleaded not guilty to breaching Article 2.2.9 of the ICC Code of Conduct and, as such, Javagal Srinath of the Panel of ICC Match Referees will hold a hearing following the conclusion of the St Lucia Test against the Windies,” said an ICC statement.

READ: Chandimal charged in ball-tampering row

Match officials charged Chandimal after television footage from the final session’s play on Friday appeared to show the captain taking sweets out from his left pocket and putting these in his mouth, before applying the artificial substance to the ball which the umpires viewed as an attempt to change its condition.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :