Jamaica Tallawahs vs St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, highlights: CPL 2020; Match abandoned

Caribbean Premier League 2020: Get the cricket score streaming, ball-by-ball commentary updates of JAM vs SKN CPL at Sportstar.

Andre Russell scored an unbeaten 50 off just 23 balls in Jamaica's defeat to Trinbago in the last match. (FILE IMAGE)   -  GETTY IMAGES

Hello and welcome to Sportstar's blog of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL 2020) match between Jamaica Tallawahs and St Kitts and Nevis Patriots.

UPDATE: It's official now. Match is abandoned due to rain and both teams get a point each. Unfortunately a point will not be enough for St Kitts and Nevis and it is now out of the tournament.

Patriots innings

Another 30 minutes before the match is called off.


UPDATE: Rain continues to pour down here in Tarouba.

STKNP 46/0 in 5.4 overs (Lewis 21, Lynn 23): Permaul provides some air and Lewis steps down and smacks it high for a six! The rains are here and the umpires call for the covers. Play is suspended.

Ian Bishop on air says the rain is sweeping across and will begin to come in to the venue in a short time.

STKNP 40/0 in 5 overs (Lewis 15, Lynn 23): Lift off from Lynn! Mujeeb drags his length short and Lynn gets going and how! FOUR, SIX, SIX! The third one was a monster hit as it sailed over the leg side boundary.

There seems to be some rain in the background and the groundsmen are waiting on the sidelines with the covers.

STKNP 23/0 in 4 overs (Lewis 14, Lynn 7): Another spinner introduced in the form of left-arm spinner Permaul. Lynn looking for the big shots but things don't seem to be coming off for him.

STKNP 19/0 in 3 overs (Lewis 13, Lynn 4): Good comeback from Edwards as he mixes his pace well. Lynn hasn't yet going in this tournament and is batting on 4 from 7 balls today.

STKNP 13/0 in 2 overs (Lewis 11, Lynn 1): Lynn watchful as Mujeeb gets the ball to skid off the pitch. Just three runs from his over.

Mujeeb will share the new ball.

STKNP 10/0 in 1 over (Lewis 10, Lynn 0): Edwards looks to tail the ball into the pads for the lbw but Lewis is timing the ball well. He launches an inswinger over the mid-wicket for his first four of the innings before flicking another inswinger behind for another four. 

Fidel Edwards has the ball for Jamaica.

The fielding side and St Kitts and Nevis' openers Lewis and Lynn make their way out to the field.

7.14 pm: Andre Russell confirms that he won't bowl today.

Playing XIs

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots: Evin Lewis, Chris Lynn, Joshua Da Silva, Ben Dunk, Denesh Ramdin(wk), Colin Archibald, Rayad Emrit(captain), Alzarri Joseph, Imran Khan, Sheldon Cottrell, Jon-Russ Jaggesar

Jamaica Tallawahs: Glenn Phillips (wk), Nkrumah Bonner, Jermaine Blackwood, Rovman Powell (captain), Asif Ali, Andre Russell, Veerasammy Permaul, Carlos Brathwaite, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sandeep Lamichhane, Fidel Edwards

7.10 pm: Lamichhane joins for the pitch report and says the pitch is getting helpful for the spinners.

7.05 pm: If St. Kitts and Nevis loses today, it will be out of the competition.

TOSS: Jamaica wins the toss and elects to bowl.

6.50 pm: Jamaica's spin twins Mujeeb ur Rahman (13 wickets) and Sandeep Lamichhane (10 wickets) are its top performing bowlers.

6.45 pm: Jamaica opener Glenn Phillips is the top-run scorer this tournament with 248 runs and has two fifties to his name. St Kitts and Nevis' opener Ewin Lewis is the side's top scorer with 202 runs and has a highest score of 89.

6.40 pm: It remains to be seen if Jamaica will continue to use Andre Russell only as a batsman today. In the 19-run defeat to Trinbago Knight Riders, Russell came in at No. 6 and smashed an unbeaten 50 off 23 balls.

TOSS scheduled for 7 pm (IST), play to begin at 7.30 pm.

Jamaica is currently fourth (MP: 7, W: 3, L: 4, PT: 6) on the points table, while St Kitts and Nevis is placed last at 6th (MP: 8, W: 1, L: 7, PT: 2).

Check out our latest Magazine ebook by clicking here. (Special edition in celebration of India great M.S. Dhoni)


The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) will be the world's first major T20 league to be held since the Covid-19 pandemic brought international and domestic cricket to a standstill, and will take place in Trinidad & Tobago.


Jamaica Tallawahs: Andre Russell, Sandeep Lamichhane, Carlos Brathwaite, Rovman Powell, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Glenn Phillips, Chadwick Walton, Oshane Thomas, Asif Ali, Fidel Edwards, Preston McSween, Jermaine Blackwood, Nicholas Kirton, Ramaal Lewis, Nkrumah Bonnar, Veerasammy Permaul, Ryan Persaud.

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots: Chris Lynn, Ben Dunk, Evin Lewis, Nick Kelly, Sohail Tanvir, Ish Sodhi, Sheldon Cottrell, Denesh Ramdin, Rayad Emrit, Imran Khan, Alzarri Joseph, Joshua De Silva, Dominic Drakes, Colin Archibald, Jon Russ Jaggesar, Jahmar Hamilton.


The CPL will be televised live on Star Sports 1 & 1 HD, Star Sports 2 & 2 HD, Star Sports 1 Hindi and 1 Hindi HD.

Hello and welcome to Sportstar's blog of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL 2020) match between Jamaica Tallawahs and St Kitts and Nevis Patriots.