Deodhar Trophy: World Cup spot at stake for aspirants

Dinesh Karthik will lead the India A squad even as he vies for the second keeper's spot with the World Cup just eight months away.

Dinesh Karthik will lead the India A team in the upcoming Deodhar Trophy.   -  PTI

The BCCI, on Thursday, announced the India A, India B and India C teams for the Deodhar Trophy starting from October 23 in New Delhi.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik will lead the India A side while Shreyas Iyer and Ajinkya Rahane have been named India B and C skippers respectively.

With the senior selection committee, headed by MSK Prasad, declaring the Indian team only for the first two ODIs against West Indies, the likes of Karthik, Mayank Agarwal and Washington Sundar will be keen on hedging their bets.

Meanwhile, all-rounders Hardik Pandya and Kedar Jadhav have been left out of the tournament as they continue to recover from their respective injuries. 

With the 2019 World Cup just eight months away, India is still searching for a perfect middle order combination. However, Prasad had earlier assured that the think-tank 'was close' to finding the right candidates.

Squads for the tournament as mentioned below:-

India A: Dinesh Karthik (C & WK), Prithvi Shaw, Anmolpreet Singh, A R Easwaran, Ankit Bawne, Nitish Rana, Karun Nair, Krunal Pandya, R Ashwin, Shreyas Gopal, S Mulani, Mohammed Siraj, Dhawal Kulkarni, Siddarth Kaul   

India B: Shreyas Iyer (C), Mayank Agarwal, Rituraj Gaekwad, PS Chopra, Hanuma Vihari, Manoj Tiwary, Ankush Bains (WK), Rohit Rayudu, K Gowtham, Mayank Markande, S Nadeem, Deepak Chahar, Varun Aaron, Jaydev Unadkat

India C: Ajinkya Rahane (C), Abhinav Mukund, Shubman Gill, R Samarth, Suresh Raina, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (WK), Vijay Shankar, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Pappu Roy, Navdeep Saini, R Gurbani, Umar Nazir

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :