Dhoni to lead Jharkhand in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named captain of the Jharkhand state side for the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

M.S. Dhoni

Former India captain M.S. Dhoni will lead the Jharkhand team in the upcoming Vijay Hazare one-day tournament Group D matches to be played in and around Kolkata.

Dhoni, who relinquished limited overs captaincy of the Indian side prior to the England series and was replaced by Steve Smith as skipper in the Rising Pune Supergiant for the Indian Premier League, had donned Jharkhand colours in the Vijay Hazare tournaments in the last two years without performing the captain’s role.

According to Jharkhand coach Rajiv Kumar, the strong squad of 18 would have a couple of days of practice here before the competition. “We have three standbys. Since I was in Mumbai with the East Zone team for the Mushtaq Ali Trophy, we would decide the standbys after having some practice,” said Rajiv.

Jharkhand will meet Karnataka in its opening match at the Eden Gardens on February 25.

Squad: M.S. Dhoni (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Ishank Jaggi, Virat Singh, Saurabh Tiwary, Kaushal Singh, Pratyush Singh, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sonu Kumar Singh, Varun Aaron, Rahul Shukla, Anukul Roy, Monu Kumar Singh, Jaskaran Singh, Anand Singh, Kumar Deobrat, S Rathore, Vikash Singh.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :