Prithvi Shaw in Mumbai’s squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy

The Mumbai Cricket Association announced the squad, which will be led by wicketkeeper-batsman Aditya Tare.

Prithvi Shaw is currently leading India at the ICC U-19 World Cup in New Zealand.   -  Prashant Nakwe

Prithvi Shaw has been included in the 16-member squad for the Vijay Hazare Trophy, an inter-state One Day International tournament to be played in Chennai from February 5.

The Mumbai Cricket Association on Tuesday announced the squad, led by wicket-keeper batsman Aditya Tare. Apart from Shaw, who is currently leading the India U-19 side in the ICC Cricket World Cup, the squad includes opener Jay Bista, Siddhesh Lad, experienced batsmen Surya Kumar Yadav and Akhil Herwadkar.

The bowling attack will be led by Dhawal Kulkarni, who has been named as the vice-captain. Medium pacer Akash Parkar, who had a decent last Ranji Trophy season, is also in the squad.

Read: Bengal announces 16-member squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy

After failing to win the Ranji Trophy and Syed Mushtaq Ali tournament (T20 format), the Mumbai players would be keen to make a mark in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, which will be played till February 14 in Chennai.

Mumbai take on Madhya Pradesh in its opening game on February 5, Gujarat on February 6, Tamil Nadu on February 8, Rajasthan on February 9, Goa on February 12 and Andhra on February 14 in Group C.

Squad: Aditya Tare (captain), Dhawal Kulkarni, Suryakumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, Akhil Herwadkar, Jay Bista, Shivam Dube, Shashank Singh, Eknath Kerkar, Aakash Parkar, Dhrumil Matkar, Royston Dias, Shams Mulani, Shubham Ranjane, Shivam Malhotra and Prithvi Shaw.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :