Ranji Round 2 Day 4: Tiwary ton helps Bengal hold on to a draw

The Bengal captain stitched a 178-run partnership for the fourth wicket with opener Naved Ahmed to help his team gain a draw against Karnataka at the Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Manoj Tiwary batted almost through the entire final day, and en route registered his 21st first-class ton.   -  Sampath Kumar G.P.

A century from captain Manoj Tiwary staved off the bowling challenge from Karnataka, who had dominated three days of proceedings, and saw Bengal through to a comfortable draw at the Chinnaswamy Stadium. Having had lost two for 58, and needing another 168 runs to make their opponents bat again, Tiwary and opener Naved Ahmed effectively batted through the entire day of 67 overs, before a rain interruption influenced the teams to agree to a draw. The two batted for 61.5 overs, adding 178 runs for the fourth wicket. Tiwary scored an unbeaten 103, and Ahmed, the more sedate of the two, scored 95 off 248 balls, before being run out.

This was after Sudip Chatterjee, Bengal’s centurion in the first innings, was dismissed in the fifth over of the day, to have them struggling at a precarious 65 for 3. Tiwary and Naved paced their innings suitably, playing cautiously for much of the first half of the day and then opening up.

After Tiwary reached his ton, Naved was run out before he reached his own milestone. He misjudged the second run, and was caught short by a Vinay Kumar throw to the non-strikers’ end.

Karnataka, owing to a 225-run lead in the first innings, received three points for this fixture, and Bengal gained one point.

Das duo demolish Rajasthan

Seamers Arup Das and Krishna Das took five wickets each to cull Rajasthan’s line-up and get Assam a victory by an innings and 52 runs in Guwahati. The rot started from the second over of the final day, when Ashok Menaria, the Rajasthan captain, was dismissed leg before wicket by Arup. Wickets fell regularly thereafter, the only brief resistance arriving from a 29-run partnership between Ajay Singh and Deepak Chahar, whose individual contributions of 10 and 18 were two of the four scores in double digits, in the batting line-up. The resistance ended by the 29th over, with the fifth wicket of the innings for Arup getting Nathu Singh, the No. 11, bowled.

Arup and Krishna both had fruitful outings in the contest, with seven and ten wickets respectively. Krishna, for his 10-for in the match, his second in a first-class game, was chosen as the Man of the Match. His contribution had significantly helped his team bowl Rajasthan out for low scores in the two innings — 186 in the first and 86 in the second.

In Guwahati:

Rajasthan 186 and 84 (Krishna Das 5 for 23, Arup Das 5 for 39) lost to Assam 422 for 9 decl. by an innings and 52 runs.

In Bengaluru:

Bengal 312 and 249 for 4 (Tiwary 103, Ahmed 95 n.o.) drew with Karnataka 537 for 9 decl.

In Delhi:

Vidarbha 298 and 98 (I Sharma 3 for 11, Sangwan 3 for 30, M Sharma 3 for 31) lost to Delhi 302 and 96 for 0 (Chand 51 n.o., Gambhir 45 n.o.) by eight wickets.

In Cuttack:

Maharashtra 281 and 289 for 4 (Jadhav 100 n.o., Gugale 71) drew with Odisha 267 and Odisha 129 for 5 (Rout 31, Sarangi 28, Sanklecha 2 for 11).

In Vizianagaram:

Gujarat 308 and 254 for 4 (Panchal 72, Merai 54, Bhatt 50, Patel 50 n.o.) drew with Andhra 421.

In Indore:

Tamil Nadu 596 for 9 decl. drew with Madhya Pradesh 407 (Saxena 124, Shrivastava 90, Ojha 87, Aswin Crist 4 for 88).

In Mumbai:

Punjab 154 and 403 (M Singh 116, J Singh 91, Khera 86, Herwadkar 6 for 52) lost to Mumbai 569 for 8 decl. (Iyer 200, Tare 137 n.o., Yadav 78, Kulkarni 42) by an innings and 12 runs.

In Porvorim:

Services 402 and 217 for 6 decl. (Chatterjee 64 n.o., Y Singh 59 n.o., Yadav 3 for 40) drew with Goa 285 (Asnodkar 139, Poonia 5 for 60) and 3 for 0.

In Dharamsala:

Jammu and Kashmir 293 and 276 (Khajuria 73, Vasisht 4 for 71) lost to Himachal Pradesh 554 (Gangta 203, Sharma 117 n.o., Bist 66, Dhawan 66) and 16 for 0 by 10 wickets.

In Hyderabad:

Kerala 401 drew with Hyderabad 218 (Reddy 73, Anirudh 57 n.o., Monish 6 for 91) and 176 for 7 (f/o) (Agarwal 64, Monish 5 for 73).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :