Ranji Round 5 Day 4: Karnataka post first win

Rajasthan lost by 92 runs despite resistance from Pranay Sharma, who scored a century, and Dishant Yagnik.

Pranay Sharma scored a defiant century for Rajasthan on Day Four against Karnataka.   -  R.V. Moorthy

Tamil Nadu off-spinner Rahil Shah is congratulated by team-mates after he took one of his four wickets against Railways on Day Four in New Delhi.   -  Shiv Kumar Pushpakar

A stern resistance from two top-order batsmen for Rajasthan served only to delay a win for Karnataka, and reduce the margin of the result, on the final day at the Sawai Man Singh Stadium in Jaipur. Rajasthan faced the uphill task of saving the contest with seven wickets in hand, and a whole day to negotiate. Their opener Pranay Sharma scored 114, and their wicketkeeper and No. 8 Dishant Yagnik scored an unbeaten 71, as Rajasthan were taken to within 93 of their target. This was Karnataka’s first win this season.

After a partnership of 64 in 26.4 overs for the fourth wicket between Sharma and Tanveer-ul-Haq, the home team lost the latter to Stuart Binny, the first wicket to fall in the day. Rajat Bhatia, who had scored 99 in the first innings, and Puneet Yadav, were dismissed in the next two overs, to have them struggling at 116 for 6.

Sharma and Yagnik, then, stuck for 26 overs, adding 98 between them at a healthy run-rate of 3.76. The partnership broke when Sharma was dismissed, following which Karnataka cleaned up the tail without much struggle, with Yagnik stranded.

Tamil Nadu had a fruitful final day against Railways at the Karnal Singh Stadium in New Delhi, to gain victory by eight wickets. Railways’ top order had put up a stern revival after the team was asked to follow on on the third day. But left-arm spinner Rahil Shah took four wickets as Railways lost six wickets for 33 runs to hand a lukewarm target of 77 for Tamil Nadu.

Batting at No. 3, Dinesh Karthik scored 43 off 40 balls, with seven fours and a six, to bring up victory in the 24th over. The opener Baba Aparajith played a contrasting innings of dourness, an unbeaten 10 off 74 balls.


Group A

Karnataka 281 and 318 for 5 dec beat Rajasthan 242 and 265 (Sharma 114, Yagnik 71 not out) by 92 runs in Jaipur

Vidarbha 332 and 149 beat Maharashtra 237 and 162 (Khadiwale 55, Wakhare 6 for 58, Sarwate 4 for 74) by 82 runs in Nagpur

Bengal 329 and 211 for 8 dec drew with Haryana 225 and 195 for 6 (Rohit Sharma 50, Rana 50, Sehwag 46) in Rohtak

Delhi 311 and 193 for 9 dec (Shorey 62, Gambhir 54, Rana 52, Mohanty 6 for 39) drew with Odisha 217 and 88 for 3 in Bhubaneswar

Group B

Tamil Nadu 328 and 77 for 2 (Karthik 43) beat Railways 164 and 240 (f/o) (Cheluvaraj 88, Rawat 78, Shah 4 for 38) in New Delhi

Madhya Pradesh 269 and 288 for 6 dec (Patidar 101, Harpreet 53, Rameez 50 not out, Swapnil 4 for 94) beat Baroda 296 and 174 (Pathan 86, Swapnil 47, Datey 4 for 20, Hirwani 4 for 41) in Vadodara

Group C

Himachal Pradesh 561 for 5 dec beat Tripura 285 and 270 (Bose 60, Chowdhary 66 not out) by an innings and six runs in Dharamsala

Saurashtra 264 and 302 for 6 Dodia 65, Vasavada 57, Jadeja 55, Khalid 4 for 147) beat Services 254 and 311 for 6 dec. by four wickets in New Delhi

Goa 302 and 102 for 5 dec. drew with Jharkhand 209 and 105 for 6 in Jamshedpur

Jammu and Kashmir 460 and 56 for 2 drew with Hyderabad 280 and 329 (f/o) (Sumanth 78, Vihari 65, Prince 62, Anirudh 57, Dayal 5 for 55) in Hyderabad

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :