Sikkim bowlers shine, Nayar scores fifty in 100th game

In Dehradun, Uttarakhand pacer Deepak Dhapola grabbed seven wickets for 50 runs as Manipur folded for 137.

Abhishek Nayar walked out for his 100 th first class match amid a guard of honour at the CAP Siechem Ground in Thuthipet Village on Monday.   -  S.S. KUMAR


Milind Kumar maintained his good form in the Ranji Trophy as he helped Sikkim gain upper-hand against Nagaland on the first day of its second Ranji Trophy outing.

At Dimapur, Milind scalped two wickets for 21 runs to bundle out Nagaland for 179 in the first innings. Later, he was batting on 78 as Sikkim finished the day at 120-5.

Opting to field, Sikkim first bowled out Nagaland in just 52.5 overs, thanks to the outstation players. Ishwar Choudhary scalped 4-65, while Bipul Sharma grabbed three wickets for 46. Milind too chipped in with a couple. Nagaland skipper Rongsen Johanthan top-scored with 86.

READ| Skipper Akshath stands tall for Hyderabad

In its first innings, Sikkim had a jittery start as it lost two wickets for 9 runs. That’s when former Delhi batsman Milind — who had recently smashed a career-best 261 against Manipur in Kolkata — played the unbeaten knock.

In Puducherry, the host team, playing its first Ranji Trophy match, put up 269-7 in the first innings against Meghalaya, with Paras Dogra slamming a knock of 101 and captain Rohit Damodaren remained unbeaten on 61. Abhishek Nayar, who shifted base from Mumbai to Puducherry this season, featured in his 100th first-class game and made it memorable by scoring a handsome 57.

In Dehradun, Uttarakhand pacer Deepak Dhapola grabbed seven wickets for 50 runs as Manipur folded for 137. Dhapola grabbed nine wickets on debut and he continued to impress by toying with Manipur batsmen at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium.

ALSO READ| Mithun, Suchith lead Karnataka's charge against Vidarbha

In its first innings, opener Karanveer Kaushal scored 45 to help Uttarakhand finish the day at 123-5, requiring another 14 runs for a first innings lead.

In another fixture in Jorhat, Mizoram was struggling at 92-3 after Arunachal Pradesh was bundled out for 220. Akhilesh Sahani scored 65, while Kshitiz Sharma played a knock of 49.

Summarised scores

In Dimapur: Nagaland first innings 179 (Rongsen Jonathan 86; Ishwar Choudhary 4-65) vs Sikkim first innings 120-5 (Milind Kumar 78 batting; Pawan Suyal 5-34)

In Dehradun: Manipur first innings 137 (Yashpal Singh 38; Deepak Dhapola 7-50) vs Uttarakhand first innings 123-5 (Karanveer Kaushal 45; Bishworjit Konthoujam 3-41)

In Jorhat: Arunachal Pradesh first innings 220 (Akhilesh Sahani 65, Kshitiz Sharma 49; Taruwar Kohli 3-62) vs Mizoram first innings 92-3 (Akhil Rajput 57)

In Puducherry: Puducherry first innings 269-7 (Paras Dogra 101; Rohit Damodaran 61 batting; Gurinder Singh 2-58) vs Meghalaya

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :