Ranji Trophy HIGHLIGHTS Semifinals, Day 2: Tiwary, Shahbaz lead Bengal to 197/5 at stumps; UP loses two quick wickets vs Mumbai

Ranji Trophy 2022 knockouts: Live updates, commentary and highlights from Day 2 of the Ranji Trophy Semifinals.

Madhya Pradesh’s Himanshu Mantri in action.   -  MURALI KUMAR K

Welcome to the Highlights of Day 2 of the Ranji Trophy semifinals in Bengaluru.


Bengal vs MP: Bengal 197/5 in 66 overs (Tiwary 84*, Shahbaz 72*) - trails by 144 runs

Mumbai vs UP: UP 25/2 in 12 overs (Kaushik 11*, Sharma 10*) - trails by 368 runs


Mumbai vs UP | Amol: Madhav Kaushik and Karan Sharma negotiate the jittery last half hour without fuss. UP 25/2 at stumps on Day Two. Can UP middle order grind on Day Three? See you at 9.30am on Wednesday.

Mumbai vs UP | Amol: Dhawal Kulkarni and Tushar Deshpande have struck early to peg UP back. While Samarth Singh's attempted leave off Kulkarni ended up in an edge to Tamore in the first over, Deshpande seamed one back in to crash into middle stump through the gap between Priyam Garg's bat and pad.  UP 7/2 in 6 overs

Mumbai vs UP | Amol: The lower order perishes without much resistance. Tamore is the last man to be dismissed after a well-made 115. Mumbai all out for 393.

Bengal vs MP | Ayan observes: Much like how MP fought back through a century stand between Raghuwanshi and Mantri yesterday, Bengal today are defying MP bowlers riding on two sessions of determined batsmanship from Shahbaz and Tiwary. These two have now added 100 for the sixth wicket.

Mumbai vs UP | Amol: Saurabh Kumar is finally rewarded for his persistence. Tanush Kotian slashes at one that rises on him and it lobs straight to point. The 40-over partnership is broken. 386/7, Tamore going strong.

3:43P: Mumbai vs UP | Amol:  Hardik Tamore, unbeaten on 98 at tea, plays out a maiden to Ankit Rajpoot after the break. In the next over, he reverse-sweeps Karan Sharma's offspin, sprints two runs and raises both his hands for his maiden First Class hundred. This has been a near-flawless knoc. He has batted 172b, 11x4, 1x6. Mumbai 350/6


Bengal vs MP: Bengal 106/5 in 38 overs (Tiwary 37*, Shahbaz 31*)

Mumbai vs UP: Mumbai 347/6 in 120 overs (Tamore 98*, Kotian 0*)


14:40PM: Bengal vs MP | Ayan comments: Manoj Tiwary and Shahbaz Ahmed have stemmed the rot momentarily. The state of Bengal's innings has allowed MP to continue its search for wickets through attacking fields. MP was four for 97 in its first innings when Mantri and Raghuwanshi came together for a momentum-turning stand. Shahbaz and Tiwary will hope for something similar.

01:42PM: Bengal vs MP | Ayan: MP ditched conventional wisdom by bowling two spinners upfront despite conditions being to the liking of the fast bowlers. The move paid off as Saransh Jain and Kumar and Kartikeya razed through the Bengal top order.  Bengal 56/5 in 17.4 overs.

01:00PM: Mumbai vs UP | Amol: Shams Mulani's push through covers off Yash Dayal for a four has been the highlight of the first half hour. Mulani and Tamore have added 15 runs in six overs so far


Bengal vs MP: Bengal 7/2 in 3 overs (Easwaran 7*, Majumdar 0*), MP 341 all out

Mumbai vs UP: Mumbai 260/5 in 87 overs (Tamore 51*, Mulani 10*)

Mumbai vs UP | update from Amol: Revised schedule for the day

70 overs to be bowled

12.30 to 3.10

3.10 to 3.30 tea break

3.30 to 5.30 (can be extended till 6)

Bengal vs MP | Ayan: MP bowled out for 341, adding 70 valuable runs to its overnight score. The partnership between Puneet Datey and Himanshu Mantri, worth 64, has helped MP reach a commanding first-innings score. The conditions are still very good for bowling and MP would hope to make early inroads into Bengal's vaunted batting lineup.


Bengal vs MP | Himanshu Mantri's brilliant knock of 165 off 326 balls has been brought to end by Mukesh Kumar. A leading edge from the left hander. Wicket-keeper Abishek Porel grabs a clean catch. Batter receives standing ovation from MP dressing room. MP 333/8 in 101.1 overs.

Bengal vs MP | Ayan tweets: In the first 30 minutes, Mukesh and Akash looked for swing, found little, and have already been taken for 5 fours. They went full to invite the drive and Datey and Mantri obliged. Bengal switching to the short ball ploy now. MP goes past 300.

Mumbai vs UP | Amol says: Not so good news from Just Cricket Academy. More than a few wet patches in the outfield, so the next inspection is at 11.30 am.

Bengal vs MP | update from Ayan: Match to start at 10. Still quite overcast but umpires, after a long chat with both skippers and coaches, have deemed the outfield fit to resume action.




Bengal vs MP: Madhya Pradesh 271/6 in 86 overs (Mantri 134*, Datey 9*)

Mumbai vs UP: Mumbai 260/5 in 87 overs (Tamore 51*, Mulani 10*)

The second day of the Ranji Trophy 2021-2022 semifinals will have a lot at stake, with both matches hanging in the balance.

Madhya Pradesh recovered from a poor start to end Day 1 on a confident 271 for 6, thanks to an unbeaten hundred by Himanshu Mantri (134*) and a partnership of 123 runs with Akshat Raghuwanshiw, who scored 63.

On Day 2, Bengal bowlers will look forward to making the best use of the overcast situations to decimate Madhya Pradesh for a modest total.

In the other semifinal, in a similar outcome, Mumbai got off to a terrible start after Uttar Pradesh sent the Prithvi Shaw-led side to bat. On an overnight rain-soaked pitch, Yash Dayal and Shivam Mavi rattled the Mumbai top-order,dismissing captain Shaw and Armaan Jaffer very early.

But a valiant effort by Yashasvi Jaiswal, who scored a ton before getting dismissed by Karan Sharma, helped Mumbai make a turnaround in the match. With Hardik Tamore batting on 51 not out, Mumbai will look for a big total, but Uttar Pradesh is likely to make inroads in the morning session.


Playing XIs

TOSS: Bengal vs MP: Madhya Pradesh wins the Toss, opts to bat.

Playing XIs

Bengal - Abhimanyu Easwaran (c), Abhishek Raman, Sudip Gharami, Anustup Majumdar, Manoj Tiwary, Abhishek Porel (wk), Shahbaz Ahmed, Sayan Mondal, Pradipta Pramanik, Akash Deep, Mukesh Kumar

Madhya Pradesh - Himanshu Mantri (wk), Yash Dubey, Shubham Sharma, Rajat Patidar, Aditya Shrivastava (c), Akshat Raghuwanshi, Saransh Jain, Kumar Kartikeya Singh, Puneet Datey, Anubhav Agarwal, Gourav Yadav

TOSS: Mumbai vs UP: Uttar Pradesh wins the Toss, opts to field.

Playing XIs

Mumbai - Prithvi Shaw (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Armaan Jaffer, Suved Parkar, Sarfaraz Khan, Hardik Tamore (wk), Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Dhawal Kulkarni, Tushar Deshpande, Mohit Avasthi

UP - Karan Sharma (c), Madhav Kaushik, Samarth Singh, Priyam Garg, Rinku Singh, Dhruv Jurel (wk), Prince Yadav, Saurabh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Ankit Rajpoot, Yash Dayal


Semifinal 1Bengal vs Madhya PradeshKSCA Cricket Ground, AlurJune 14-189:30AMAyan AcharyaDisney+ Hotstar, Star Sports network
Semifinal 2Mumbai vs Uttar PradeshJust Cricket Academy, BengaluruJune 14-189:30AMAmol KarhadkarDisney+ Hotstar