Ranji Trophy: Hyderabad begins with comfortable win

Chasing 35 runs in 12 overs, Hyderabad reached the target in five overs losing opener Akshath Reddy (2) cheaply, thereby missing the bonus point to finish with six from this win.

Hyderabad bowler Ravi Kiran exults after dismissing Goa's Amit Yadav in a Ranji Trophy Group C match in Nagpur.   -  V. V. Subrahmanyam

Hyderabad began its Ranji Trophy campaign in style with an emphatic nine-wicket win over Goa in a Group C match at the old VCA Stadium here on Sunday.

Chasing 35 runs in 12 overs, Hyderabad reached the target in five overs losing opener Akshath Reddy (2) cheaply, thereby missing the bonus point to finish with six from this win.

Earlier, resuming from its overnight score of five for no loss, Goa suffered a double blow in the fifth over of the day when pace bowler Ravi Kiran dismissed the openers Amogh Desai and Swapnil Asnodkar cheaply. Then, a useful stand of 90-run stand between captain Sagun Kamat (55, 73b, 10x4) and Snehal Kauthankar (34, 87b, 8x4) for the third wicket put the innings back on rail.

At lunch, Goa looked to be on the road to safety scoring 109 for two. But in the first over on resumption, left-arm pacer Chama Milind struck the big blow cleaning up Sagun Kamat and soon left-arm spinner Mehdi Hasan trapped Snehal Kautankar lbw.

But even after sending the two well-set batsmen back, Hyderabad's hopes of wrapping up the lower-order were quickly dashed by the defiance of the reliable Saurabh Bandekar (51, 101b, 7x4) and Shadab Jakati (28, 42b, 4x4, 1x6) who put on 48 runs for the seventh wicket which was more crucial in terms of time occupied at the crease if not runs scored.

Just when one thought the two might steer Goa to safety, off-spinner Vishal Sharma dismissed Jakati, luring him to play a late cut only to be bowled and then wicketkeeper K Sumanth pulled off an excellent catch, diving to his right, to send back Saurav Bandekar off Md Siraj. Two crucial blows which effectively sealed Goa’s fate though Ritu Raj Singh and Amit Yadav were in no mood to give up easily giving some tense moments to the Hyderabad camp before eventually folding up the show.

The scores (round one, day four)

Group A

At Jaipur: Baroda 544 for eight decl. drew with Gujarat 555 for four in 178 overs (Manpreet Juneja 201 n.o., Axar Patel 110 n.o., Bhargav Merai 70, Rujul Bhatt 58 retired hurt , Samit Gohil 43); Points: Gujarat (3), Baroda (1)

At New Delhi (Palam): Railways 331 & 245 for seven decl. in 81.2 overs (Saurabh Wakaskar 57, Shivakant Shukla 97, Mahesh Rawat 48, Vinay Choudhary three for 63) drew with Punjab 215 & 170 for three in 58 overs (Uday Kaul 61 n.o., Mandeep Singh 41 n.o., Jiwanjot Singh 33); Points: Railways (3), Punjab (1)

At Hyderabad: Madhya Pradesh 465 bt Uttar Pradesh 176 & 225 in 99.4 overs (Tanmay Srivastava 93, Sarfaraz Khan 49, Chandrakant Sakure six for 40); Points: Madhya Pradesh (7), Uttar Pradesh (0)

Group B

At Vizianagaram: Saurashtra 430 drew with Rajasthan 105 in 38.4 overs (Manender Singh 44, Shaurya Sanandia six for 14) & 30 for four in 14 overs; Points: Saurashtra (3), Rajasthan (1)

At Visakhapatnam: Odisha 150 & 274 for nine decl. in 102.1 overs (Govinda Poddar 58, Sandeep Pattnaik 40, Ranjit Singh 35, Subhransu Senapati 34, Deepak Behera 31 n.o., Akshay Wakhare three for 61) drew with Vidarbha 272 for six decl.; Points: Vidarbha (3), Odisha (1)

At New Delhi (Karnail Singh stadium): Maharashtra 210 & 188 lost to Jharkhand 306 & 93 for four in 19.5 overs (Virat Singh 33 n.o.); Points: Jharkhand (6), Maharashtra (0)

At Vadodara: Assam 193 & 313 in 96.3 overs (Syed Mohammed 82, Sarupam Purkayastha 47, Tarjinder Singh 42, Rahul Hazarika 40, Amit Verma 35, K.B. Arun Karthick 34, Manan Sharma five for 108) lost to Delhi 589 for eight decl.; Points: Delhi (7), Assam (0)

Group C

At Bhubaneswar: Himachal Pradesh 357 drew with Andhra 167 for one in 59 overs (D.B. Prasanth Kumar 93 n.o., Hanuma Vihari 68 n.o.); Points: Himachal Pradesh (1), Andhra (1)

At Nagpur: Goa 164 & 258 in 86.1 overs (Sagun Kamat 55, Saurabh Bandekar 51, Snehal Kauthankar 34, Rituraj Singh 30, M. Ravi Kiran three for 40) lost to Hyderabad 388 & 35 for one in 5 overs; Points: Hyderabad (6), Goa (0)

At Mumbai: Services 197 & 329 for six decl. in 104.3 overs (Nakul Verma 78, Shamsher Yadav 70, Ravi Chauhan 60, Anshul Gupta 40, Soumik Chatterjee 33) drew with Haryana 248 & 136 for one in 36 overs (Nitin Saini 101 n.o.); Points: Haryana (3), Services (1)

At Kalyani: Kerala 304 drew with Jammu & Kashmir 121 in 44 overs (Adil Reshi 40, Iqbal Abdulla three for 36, K.S. Monish four for 9) & 91 for four in 31.3 overs (Shubham Khajuria 39 n.o.); Points: Kerala (3), J&K (1)

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :