Cheteshwar Pujara to captain Saurashtra in Ranji Trophy opener

The regular captain Jaydev Shah will miss the game due to his marriage.

Cheteshwar Pujara has played for Saurashtra for 12 years.   -  V. V. Krishnan

Cheteshwar Pujara will captain Saurashtra in the first match of its Ranji Trophy campaign on October 6 in the absence of regular captain Jaydev Shah.

“The senior selection committee meeting of Saurashtra Cricket Association (SCA) was held today. They selected 15 members for the first game. Pujara has been named as captain and Robin Uthappa will play for Saurashtra this season,” Himanshu Shah, SCA media manager told PTI.

READ: Pujara, India’s new ‘Wall’ of strength

“Jaydev Shah, who has been captaining Saurashtra since over last one decade will miss the opening game due to his marriage, which is on October 5,” added Shah.

READ: Ashwin, Pujara have ordinary outings in Worcestershire's win over Notts

Squad for the first game: Cheteshwar Pujara (c), Robin Uthappa, Jaydev Unadkat, Snell Patel (wk), Prerak Mankad, Chirag Jani, Dharmendra Jadeja, Vandit Jivrajani, Avi Barot, Kishan Parmar, Krushang Patel, Shaurya Sanandiya, Hardik Rathod.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :