Ranji Trophy: Bengal looks for QF berth against Goa

Bengal skipper Manoj Tiwary, who will be missing the services of India team players Wriddhiman Saha and Mohammed Shami, sounded confident about claiming the requisite points

Bengal skipper Manoj Tiwary (in pic) will take field without trump cards Mohammed Shami and Wriddhiman Saha.   -  PTI


Bengal will be leveraging on the advantage of playing at home as it looks to seal a quarterfinal berth while meeting bottom-placed Goa in the concluding round of group-D Ranji Trophy league at the Eden Gardens from Saturday.

The Bengal camp remained upbeat ahead of the match as it looked to continue the momentum gained from the resounding win over Punjab in the previous round.

Ranji Trophy: Kerala faces Haryana in must-win game

Bengal is currently placed second in the group standings with 20 points. A draw, with a first innings lead, is enough to secure the quarterfinal berth as its closest challenger Punjab (15 points) cannot go beyond 22 points. Bengal captain Manoj Tiwary, who will be missing the services of India team players Wriddhiman Saha and Mohammed Shami and young pacer Ishan Porel (picked for the Under-19 Challenger Trophy), sounded confident about picking up the requisite points. “We need three points and for that we need to focus on our strengths and execute the plan. We can do it if the team plays to its potential,” Tiwary said.

While the young Porel has been consistently doing well with the ball, Bengal has lot of options in picking up a good replacement from the reserves. The question remains about who would be joining seasoned Ashok Dinda in sharing the new ball. Up for selection will be the names like Sayan Ghosh and B. Amit. Bengal has a good spin combination in off-spinner Aamir Gani and left-arm spinner Pradipta Pramanik, while the batting runs deep with Abhimanyu Easwaran, Abhishek Raman, Sudip Chatterjee and Tiwary himself contributing substantially to the team’s cause in the past few rounds.

Ranji Trophy: Karnataka in race to cement top spot

Goa, with just five points from three draws in its kitty, will be playing for pride. “We had a good side but the seniors in the team failed to click this season,” said the Goa coach Prakash Mayenkar hoping his team puts up a better show in the final outing.

Teams (from):

Bengal: Manoj Tiwary(capt.), Sudip Chatterjee, Writtick Chatterjee, Ashok Dinda, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Aamir Gani, Koushik Ghosh, Sayan Ghosh, Shreevats Goswami, Anustup Majumdar, Mukesh Kumar, Pradipta Pramanik, Abhishek Raman, Kanishk Seth, B. Amit

Goa: Sagun Kamat (capt.), Swapnil Asnodkar, Amogh Sunil Desai, Suraj Dongre, Reagan Pinto, Felix Alemao, Amit Yadav, Keenan Vaz, Sumiran Amonkar, Saurabh Bandekar, Samar Shravan Dubhashi, Shadab Bashir Jakati, Gauresh Gawas, Darshan Wagha Misal, Amulaya Pandrekar, Rituraj Singh, Snehal Suhas Kauthankar, Srinivas Fadte, Heramb Parab, Vedant Naik, Prathamesh Gawas