Sourav Ganguly announces plans for Bengal Premier League

The Twenty20 tourney will commence in December this year.

Sourav Ganguly (right)... “[The tournament is being arranged] to promote Bengal cricket.”   -  Getty Images

A franchise-based Bengal Premier League involving six teams will commence in December this year, Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president and former India captain Sourav Ganguly said here on Friday.

“I have signed a contract with IMG-R. There will be six teams taking part and three grounds have been allotted for the tournament,” Ganguly told reporters. The Eden Gardens, Jadavpur University’s Salt Lake campus ground, and a district stadium will host matches.

Floodlights will be installed at the Jadavpur University’s Salt Lake campus ground and the district stadium for these matches to take place.

The auctions are likely to be held in the last week of August. “This (arranging the tournament) is being done to promote Bengal cricket,” Ganguly added.

Meanwhile, the 44-year-old said India will fare well in the upcoming International Cricket Council (ICC) Champions Trophy> he also said the replacement of injured Manish Pandey with wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik will not affect the team composition adversely. “India will do well in the ICC Champions Trophy. The squad looks good and one change won’t affect much,” Ganguly said.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :