Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Prithvi Shaw fifty leads Mumbai to comfortable win

Mumbai has now won each of its four Group C matches and currently tops the points table.

Prithvi Shaw led Mumbai's pursuit of 141 with a 47-ball 71. (file photo)   -  K. Pichumani

Openers Prithvi Shaw (71 off 47b, 5x5, 7x6) and Ajinkya Rahane (31 off 25b, 5x4) clicked for the first time in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy to set up Mumbai’s convincing six-wicket win over Goa and help the side maintain a clean slate in Group C.

Shaw’s 95-run association with captain Rahane ensured Mumbai crossed a moderate target of 141 runs at the Emerald Heights International School ground without any fuss after an all-round bowling effort had restricted Goa to 140 for four.

As it happened

In the first half of the league stage, neither Shaw - returning after recovering from the ankle injury he suffered in a tour game in Australia - nor Rahane, in a desperate bid to revive his white-ball career for India, had been able to make a meaningful contribution. In fact, both the openers had not even survived the first three overs in Mumbai’s three matches coming into Monday’s game.

The duo turned the tide in style against an attack that lacked penetration. The moment the diminute Shaw pulverised swinger Krishna Das over cover and extra cover for a six off consecutive balls in the fourth over, the signs were ominous. And the stylish opener carried on from there to entertain a handful of spectators who had travelled to the outskirts of the city. 

He took on the part-time spin of Amit Verma, the other Goa professional besides Das, despatching the leggie over the fence against the turn thrice in an over besides cutting him for a four through backward point for a four.

Rahane showed his prowess of findings gaps at will, sweeping left-arm spinner Darshan Misal at will. Just when the duo was running away with the game, Rahane top-edged a flick off medium-pacer Vijesh Prabhudesai for Suyash Prabhudesai to complete a running catch at mid-wicket.

Shaw then swept Misal for a six over mid-wicket before mistiming another attempt to hole out to deep square-leg. In-form Shreyas Iyer and Siddhesh Lad then fell cheaply to prolong Goa’s defeat before Suryakumar Yadav and Aditya Tare completed the formalities in the penultimate over.

Earlier in the afternoon, after being asked to field, Mumbai bowlers put in yet another disciplined bowling effort to keep Goa to 140. Pacer Shardul Thakur was unlucky, with Iyer and Rahane failing to latch on to difficult chances. Just when Goa captain Amogh Desai had started upping the ante, Iyer ran in from sweeper cover to end his innings after a mistimed drive off left-arm spinner Shams Mulani.

None of the other Goa batsmen could get on top of the Mumbai bowlers, with Suyash’s six and a four off the last two balls of the innings off Dhawal Kulkarni helping Goa touch the 140-run mark. 

Brief scores

At Emerald Heights International School ground

Goa 140 for four in 20 overs (Aagun Kamat 27, Amogh Desai 38, Amit Verma 27, Keenan Vaz 26) lost to Mumbai 141 for four in 18.2 overs (Prithvi Shaw 71, Ajinkya Rahane 31).
Points: Goa 0 (4 in 3 matches); Mumbai 4 (16 in 4).

At Holkar Stadium

Sikkim 75 all out in 18 overs (Milind Kumar 28; Chetan Sakariya two for 16, Jaydev Unadkat two for 9) lost to Saurashtra 79 for three in 8.3 overs (Cheteshwar Pujara 39 n.o.; Bipul Sharma three for 23).

Points: Sikkim 0 (0 in 3); Saurashtra 4 (12 in 3).

Madhya Pradesh 159 for six in 20 overs (Naman Ojha 74, Parth Sahani 40; Amit Mishra three for 19, Anureet Singh three for 24) lost to Railways 161 for five in 19.4 overs (Pratham Singh 61, Ashish Yadav 32 n.o.; Mihir Hirwani three for 20).

Points: Madhya Pradesh 0 (4 in 4); Railways 4 (12 in 3).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :