Syed Mushtaq Ali: Jharkhand pulls off thrilling win

In Group A matches, Jharkhand pulled off a thrilling three-run win over Delhi while Kerala posted a 83-run win over Manipur.

Virat Singh attempts a pull shot during his unbeaten knock of 70.   -  V. Raju

Jharkhand pulled off a thrilling three-run win over Delhi in a Group A Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy first round match at Mulapadu Cricket Complex here on Thursday.

Put in to bat by Delhi captain Ishant Sharma, Jharkhand scored 158 for four in 20 overs thanks to Anand Singh (37, 32b, 6 x 4) and southpaw Virat Singh (70 not out, 49b, 8 x 4, 1 x 6).

In reply, Delhi seemed to be in a race to overhaul the target at one stage with opener Unmukt Chand (33, 35b, 1 x 5) Dhruv Shorey (70, 55b, 7 x 4, 2 x 6) putting on 93 runs for the second wicket.

Read: Easwaran century flattens Mizoram

But, it lost the script once Unmukt fell to left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem, by playing straight to the fielder in the deep and in the 17th over Shorey was dismissed by pacer Rahul Shukla to leave Delhi at 123 for four.

The rest failed to rise to the occasion and Monu Kumar bowled a tidy final over conceding just four when eight runs were needed for Delhi to win the game.

In another match, Sachin Baby’s impressive unbeaten 75 (46b, 10 x 4) helped Kerala score an emphatic 83-run win over Manipur.

The scores:

In Vijayawada: Jharkhand 158 for four in 20 overs (Anand Singh 37, Virat Singh 70 not out) bt Delhi 155 for five in 20 overs (Unmukt Chand 33, Dhruv Shorey 70, Shahbaz Nadeem two for 26, Rahul Shukla two for 35).

Nagaland 136 for six in 20 overs (K.B. Pawan 53 not out) lost to J & K 142 for one in 15.5 overs (Abdul Salad 76 not out, Jatin Wadhwan 62).

Kerala 186 for five in 20 overs (Vishnu Vinod 34, Sachin Baby 75 not out, Mohammed Azharuddeen 47) bt Manipur 103 for seven in 20 overs (Mayank Raghav 32, Yashpal Singh 40 not out).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :