Vijay Hazare Trophy: Krunal Pandya stars for Baroda

Baroda defeats Assam by 92 runs on Saturday to lead Group ‘A’ in the points table, in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Vidarbha stays in hunt; Railways signs off with victory.

Krunal Pandya scored 72, and then backed it up with a four-for on Saturday.   -  K.V.S. Giri (File Photo)

Krunal Pandya’s all-round display pushed the 91-run stand between Pathan brothers, Yusuf and Irfan, to the background as Baroda cruised to a 92-run victory over Assam at the Karnail Singh Stadium here.

In Saturday’s other matches, Vidarbha kept Baroda’s company at the top of the points table with 16 points from five outings following its 68-run victory over Haryana at the Ferozeshah Kotla. In the battle of two lower-placed teams, Railways signed off its campaign with eight points after inflicting a six-wicket defeat over Odisha at the Air Force ground, Palam. As things stand, Vidarbha and Baroda are four points ahead of third-placed Punjab (12 points). All other teams are out of reckoning for the two quarterfinal spots from the seven-team Group ‘A’.

Pandya smashed a six and eight boundaries in his 72, out of Baroda’s 119, before being fourth out in the 32nd over. Thereafter, Yusuf and Irfan seized control and added 91 runs. Yusuf’s 79-ball 71 included two sixes and six fours while Irfan’s unbeaten 50 off 59 deliveries was dotted with two sixes and four fours.

When Assam chased 234, Pandya returned to torment the opposition. He bowled danger-man Arun Karthick and then came back to polish off the tail. The other left-arm spinner Swapnil Singh scalped three big wickets, those of top-scorer Risav Das (44), Amit Verma (13) and Syed Mohammad (20) and paved the way for Baroda’s victory.

Vidarbha was never really threatened once it set Haryana a target of 238. After Ganesh Satish and Apoorv Wankhede hit half centuries to give the team a good total, Akshay Karnewar followed his 27 with four for 29 to keep Haryana at bay. Akshay Wakhare took three for 38 as Haryana folded for 169, leaving Vidarbha a worthy winner.

Seasoned campaigner Mahesh Rawat starred in Railways’ win. Rawat scored an unbeaten 88 as Railways chased down Odisha’s 228 for eight with an over to spare.

The scores:

At Karnail Singh Stadium: Baroda 233 for six in 50 overs (Krunal Pandya 72, Yusuf Pathan 71, Irfan Pathan 50 not out, Pritam Das three for 37) beat Assam 141 in 42.3 overs (Rishav Das 44, Krunal Pandya four for 20, Swapnil Singh three for 37) by 92 runs. Toss: Assam. Points: Baroda 4 (16), Assam 0 (8).

At the Ferozeshah Kotla ground: Vidarbha 237 for nine in 50 overs (Ganesh Satish 78, Apoorv Wankhede 64, Akshay Karnewar 27, Mohit Sharma two for 36, Rahul Tewatia two for 46, Sanjay Pahal two for 69) beat Haryana 169 in 42.3 overs (Shivam Chauhan 46, Rajat Paliwal 32, Rahul Dagar 29, Akshay Karnewar four for 29, Akshay Wakhare three for 38) by 68 runs. Toss: Vidarbha: Points : Vidarbha 4 (16), Haryana 0 (8).

At the Air Force ground, Palam: Odisha 228 for eight in 50 overs (Sandeep Pattanaik 85, Biplab Samantaray 33, Anurag Sarangi 32, Arabind Singh 26, Amit Mishra two for 31, Ashish Yadav two for 36, Ambikeshwar Mishra two for 45, Karn Sharma two for 52) lost to Railways 231 for four in 49 overs (Mahesh Rawat 88 not out, Ashish Yadav 45, Arindam Ghosh 45, Shivakant Shukla 30, Govind Poddar two for 35) by six wickets. Toss: Railways. Points: Railways 4 (8), Odisha 0 (4).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :