Vijay Hazare Trophy: Bihar wins again; Paras guides Puducherry home

Keshav Kumar’s five-for helped Bihar register its fifth successive win to bundle out Arunachal Pradesh for 145 in 45.3 overs

Paras Dogra scored an unbeaten 98 to help Puducherry register a win. (File Photo)   -  Shiv Kumar Pushpakar

Bihar maintained its winning run in the Vijay Hazare Trophy as the side defeated Arunachal Pradesh by five wickets at the GS Patel Stadium in Nadiad on Friday.

In the other fixtures of the day, Manipur decimated Mizoram by 210 runs in Anand, while Puducherry managed a narrow two-wicket win over Nagaland at the Motibagh Stadium.

Bihar, which won its fifth match on the trot, relied on Keshav Kumar’s five-for to bundle out Arunachal Pradesh for 145 in 45.3 overs. Winning the toss and opting to field first, Bihar unleashed Keshav, who scalped five wickets and conceded just 23 runs. Samar Quadri, who scalped a fifer in the previous game, however, went wicketless, giving away 37 runs in nine overs.

As it happened

Chasing 146, Bihar got off to a steady start, with opener Babul Kumar slamming 57. His opening partner, Vikas Ranjan, also played an innings of 26 to ensure the team did not lose plot.

In the other fixture in Anand, Manipur rode on seasoned campaigner Yashpal Sharma’s 102 and Chingangbam Sing’s 75 to put up 279-4 in 50 overs. In reply, Mizoram was bundled out for 69, with R Rex Singh claiming a five-for (5-17). With wickets tumbling at regular intervals, Mizoram was never in the game, and surrendered rather meekly. For the team, opener Sinan Abdul Khadir top-scored with 17 runs.

The other fixture between Puducherry and Nagaland witnessed some intense action, with the side from South finally clinching the tie. Batting first, Nagaland rode on captain Rongsen Jonathan’s 89 to reach 202 in 45.3 overs. In reply, Puducherry lost eight wickets for 199, but Paras Dogra — the seasoned campaigner — remained unbeaten on 98 to ensure that the team crossed the finish line.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :