For Dr. Vijay Patil, running cricket smoothly remains a priority. The business tycoon, who filed his nomination on Tuesday, is set to be elected the president of the Mumbai Cricket Association unopposed.

“Cricket has always been in my DNA. Cricket is something that we want to take forward. We will put in all our efforts to make sure that we move in that direction…” he said after filing his nomination.

Patil — a trustee and the president of the D.Y. Patil Sports Academy in Navi Mumbai — was instrumental in building the multi-purpose sports stadium in Nerul, where the IPL final was played in 2008.

In the 2015 Mumbai Cricket Association elections, Patil lost to Sharad Pawar by a small margin at the MCA. Prior to that, he was the vice-president of the association from 2013 to 2015.

This time around, the 53-year-old has resigned from the chairmanship of the Mumbai District Football Association (MDFA) in a bid to be free of any conflict.

“It’s truly a humbling experience. Members across all (groups), various stakeholders, have supported my candidature, and I’m delighted to be a part of the association,” Patil said.

“I feel greatly humbled because of the confidence that everyone has shown in me. It places a lot of responsibility on my shoulders. I will make sure that I’ll be able to contribute positively for the game,” he said.

According to MCA sources, a total of 38 candidates have filed nominations for 14 positions and following the scrutiny of nomination, the valid list of candidates will be published on Wednesday evening. There are multiple candidates for all the positions, barring that of the president.

The MCA election will be held on Friday.

Four elected unopposed in KSCA polls

Four candidates have been elected unopposed as members of the KSCA Managing Committee ahead of Thursday's polls.

S. Sudhakar Rai (Karavalli Cricketers, Mysore Zone), D.S. Arun (Adarsha CC, Shivamogga Zone), Avinash R. Potdar (Belgaum SC, Dharwad Zone), and K. Shashidhar (Venus CC, Davangere, Tumkur Zone), all part of the Brijesh Patel-backed group, were deemed elected without a contest when the final list of candidates was announced by the electoral officer here on Tuesday.

Thus, only 12 seats on the Managing Committee will be contested in Thursday's elections.

Meanwhile, the final list of candidates, which emerged after the withdrawal of certain nominations on Tuesday, confirmed that it would be a direct fight for the Secretary's post between Santosh Menon and K.S. Raghuram. There are three-way contests for the posts of Vice President (involving J. Abhiram, Joseph Hoover and Siddalinga Swamy) and Treasurer (involving B.N. Madhukar, V.S. Venkatesh Gowda and Vinay Mruthyunjaya).