Duleep Trophy 2019, Day 3: Play washed out for successive day

A wet outfield forced play to be abandoned on the third day of the Duleep Trophy match between India Green and India Blue in Bengaluru.

Gaikwad is bowled by Tanveer ul-Haq on day 1 of the Duleep Trophy match.   -  N. Sudarshan

Hello and welcome to Sportstar's LIVE coverage of the 2019 Duleep Trophy match between India Blue and India Green. We will bring you the updates from the Just Cricket Academy Ground in Bengaluru.


Our reporter Ashwin Achal reports from Bengaluru: A wet outfield forced play to be abandoned on the third day of the Duleep Trophy match between India Green and India Blue, at Just Cricket ground here on Monday.

Though there was no rain on the day, the outfield remained wet due to overnight showers. After several inspections, the umpires called off play in the evening session. The second day's play was abandoned without a ball being bowled too, due to a wet outfield and a steady drizzle.

India Blue remain on 112 for six.

Day 3 updates:

5:08 pm: Stumps has been called. The third day of play, too, has been abandoned without a ball being bowled.

9:50am: Not a kind of start to the day anyone would have wanted. The news coming in that the start of third day's play has been delayed due to wet outfield.

Day 2 washed out:

Play was abandoned without a ball being bowled on the second day of the Duleep Trophy match between India Green and India Blue on Sunday.

The first session was lost due to a wet outfield caused by overnight rain. Shortly after Lunch, it began to drizzle, putting an end to all hopes of witnessing some on-field action.

India Blue remain on 112 for six.

Day 1 report


India Green restricted India Blue to 112 for six at stumps on the opening day of the Duleep Trophy on Saturday. After wet outfield delayed the start by close to two hours at the Just Cricket Ground near here, bad light stopped proceedings with a good 90 minutes remaining for the scheduled close. Play was eventually called off 10 minutes from time.

However, in the 49 overs of cricket that was possible, the pace duo of Tanveer-Ul-Haq (17-6-36-2) and Ishan Porel (12-7-26-3) made sure that Faiz Fazal would not be left disappointed with his decision to field first under largely overcast conditions.

Right-hand bat Snell Patel (5, 25b) was the first to go, trapped leg-before by Tanveer before Porel got the prized scalp of Shubman Gill (6, 13b). The Blue skipper started with an imperious square cut to the boundary but was out caught behind when the cherry brushed his gloves as he attempted to leave the ball.

Ruturaj Gaikwad made a patient 30 and even sent Tanveer soaring over the long off fence once. But the left-arm pacer had his revenge, rearranging the stumps as Gaikwad shouldered arms. When Porel forced Anmolpreet Singh to edge to Dhruv Shorey at first slip, it was left to the seasoned Ankeet Bawne (14 batting, 74b) to shore up the innings.

Slow going

In the company of Ricky Bhui, he dug deep and even survived a probing 10-over period as Porel and Tanveer hunted in tandem. Runs came down to a trickle but crucially no wickets were lost. The introduction of spinner Rahul Chahar in the 35th over however appeared to relax the batsmen. It didn’t take long for Ankit Rajpoot from the other end to draw Bhui into an expansive drive and have him caught in the slips.

Porel returned just after Tea to dismiss the experienced Jalaj Saxena, caught by ‘keeper Akshay Wadkar, to ensure that India Green will start day two on the ascendancy.

“I thought we could have bowled even better,” said Tanveer later. “But overall we bowled in the right areas. Conditions were good for bowling, but whenever we erred, we were also punished. Ruturaj hit me for a six and same happened to Porel when he bowled one short. The target is now to get the remaining wickets within 15-20 overs.”


Playing XIs

India Blue: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Anmolpreet Singh, Shubman Gill(c), Ricky Bhui, Ankit Bawne, Snell Patel(w), Jalaj Saxena, Saurabh Kumar, Aniket Choudhary, Basil Thampi, Tushar Deshpande

India Green: Faiz Fazal(c), Akshath Reddy, Dhruv Shorey, Siddhesh Lad, Akshay Wadkar(w), Priyam Garg, Ankit Rajpoot, Rahul Chahar, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Tanveer Ul-Haq, Ishan Porel