Harbhajan to lead Punjab in Vijay Hazare Trophy

Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh has been chosen to lead the 16-man Punjab squad selected for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy.


Harbhajan Singh has not played international cricket since Asia Cup in 2016.   -  AP

Harbhajan Singh will lead the 16-member Punjab squad for the Vijay Hazare Trophy, and the team will play its first match against Vidarbha on February 25. The senior selection Committee of Punjab Cricket Association met under the Chairmanship of Bhupinder Singh Sr. at I S Bindra Stadium PCA Mohali on Tuesday.

Punjab will be playing against Assam on February 26, Baroda on February 28, Railways on March 1, versus Haryana on March 3 and Odisha on March 6, PCA spokesperson Sushil Kapoor said in a release. All the matches are slated to be played at various venues at New Delhi.

The squad: Harbhajan Singh (captain), Manan Vohra, Shubman Gill, Jivanjot Singh, Mandeep Singh, Yuvraj singh, Gurkirat Singh Mann, Gitansh Khera (wicketkeeper) Abhishek Sharma, Manpreet Singh Grewal, Siddharth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma, Varun Khanna, Baltej Singh, Mayank Sidana, Sharad Lumba and Shubek Gill.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

Read the Free eBook

  Dugout videos