World Cup 2019, AUS vs WI: Toss, team news, pitch report, weather

West Indies replaces Darren Bravo with Evin Lewis, while Australia is unchanged in Nottingham, as Jason Holder wins the toss and elects to bowl first.

Captain Aaron Finch and David Warner will open the innings for Australia   -  Getty Images

Toss: West Indies captain Jason Holder has won the toss and has opted to bowl first at Trent Bridge, Nottingham in match 10 of the 2019 ICC World Cup.

Team news: Australia is unchanged. West Indies leaves out Darren Bravo and brings in opener Evin Lewis.

Pitch report: "Surface is same as Pakistan vs England. Good surface to bat on and we know what to expect. Batting from Radcliffe road, batsmen have the shorter boundary to play with. Australia conceded 481, the last time they bowled here. There is a little bit of grass but there is no tinge of green. It is a used pitch but cracks have not opened up. It looks a belter, good luck to the bowlers. Justin Langer was walking by and he said that he would love to come out of retirement to play on this surface," reckon Shaun Pollock and Michael Holding.

Weather: The conditions are nice, it is bright and sunny.


Jason Holder: We will field first. It is a good wicket and we are hoping for some early wickets. We want to be disciplined in both the departments. We want to continue to play some good cricket. I think it is going to be a good surface. We just have to be aggressive.

Aaron Finch: I wanted to bat first anyway on this wicket. It looks dry and hopefully it will assist spinners late in the game. Confidence in the camp has made a difference and we have stepped up our game in crucial moments. Teams have totally changed so history doesn't matter much.

Playing XIs:

Australia (Playing XI): Aaron Finch(c), David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey(w), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa.

West Indies (Playing XI): Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope(w), Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Russell, Jason Holder(c), Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :