World Cup 2019, BAN vs SA: Toss, team news, pitch report, weather

Hashim Amla is out of South Africa's playing XI while Tamim Iqbal finds a place in the Bangladesh team. South Africa has won the toss and elected to field.

Published : Jun 02, 2019 14:52 IST

South Africa has won the toss and elected to field.
South Africa has won the toss and elected to field.

South Africa has won the toss and elected to field.

Toss:   South Africa has won the toss and has opted to field

Team news: For South Africa, Hashim Amla's out; David Miller comes back in. Chris Morris finds a spot in the XI as well. For Bangladesh, Tamim Iqbal's fit and will play in today's match.

Pitch report: " The square boundaries in general are really short. A really good surface early on, a bit of rolling, watering, and it's been shaved on the top. There will be some carry and bounce to the keeper. There are some bowler's footmarks, and that's a good area for Mustafizur to exploit with his signature cutters. Otherwise, it's a fantastic surface for the batsmen," reckons Ian Bishop.

Weather:   There's bright sunshine. 23 degrees celsius, all "clouds and sunshine". There's 0% chances of rain according to Google weather.


Mashrafe Mortaza: We are confident, had a good preparation. South Africa losing that day doesn't matter. We have to play hard. It's a good wicket to bat on. Tamim is playing. Everyone is fit to play. Our top XI are playing.

Faf du Plessis: We'll have a bowl. Playing an extra seamer today, and we would like to attack the Bangladeshis in the first 15 overs. We did really well to restrict the strong England line-up to 300ish, and we were one partnership away from a really close chase. Amla's out, so Miller comes back in. Morris comes in as well, as I said we are trying to take advantage of the bounce on the wicket.

Playing XIs:

South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis(c), Rassie van der Dussen, Jean-Paul Duminy, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment