World Cup 2019, NZ vs SL: Toss, team news, pitch report, weather

Tim Southee and Henry Nicholls miss out as Kane Williamson won the toss and put Sri Lanka in to bat at Cardiff.

Published : Jun 01, 2019 15:13 IST

Dimuth Karunaratne and Lahiru Thirimanne are Sri Lanka's openers
Dimuth Karunaratne and Lahiru Thirimanne are Sri Lanka's openers

Dimuth Karunaratne and Lahiru Thirimanne are Sri Lanka's openers

Toss: New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and opted to bowl against Sri Lanka at Cardiff on Saturday.

Team news: Henry Nicholls and Tim Southee miss out due to injuries, Colin Munro gets a chance. For Sri Lanka, Jeffrey Vandersay, Milinda Siriwardana, Nuwan Pradeep, Avishka Fernando are the four not playing.

Pitch report: Nasser Hussain assesses the pitch and he says New Zealand will be quite happy with what it sees. There's good, even covering of grass and it is a fresh pitch. A covering of grass to keep pace on the pitch.

Weather: It is quite sunny today.


Kane Williamson: We are gonna have a bowl. It's a fresh wicket with a green tinge. Blundell, Southee, Sodhi, Nicholls are the guys to miss out. A few niggles. It's a day-by-day thing. They are minor things. Just not quite ready today (Nicholls). Just a one spinner and two all-rounders. That helps with the balance. Two fantastic hit-outs (warm-up games), contrasting results though. For us it's about adapting throughout the tournament.

Dimuth Karunaratne: We would have bowled first as well, We are playing four seamers. We played a practice game here. After first session [hour?], it doesn't do much but if you hit the deck hard, you can get some seam movement. We don't have much pressure. We want to do well. We want to show Sri Lankans who we are and what we can do.

Playing XIs:

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Perera (wk), Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (capt), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment