Harmanpreet Kaur named captain of ICC Women's T20 Team of the Year

India's Smriti Mandhana and Poonam Yadav found a place in both the ODI and the T20 teams of the year.

India's Harmanpreet Kaur was selected as the captain of ICC T20 Team of the Year.   -  Getty Images

The International Cricket Council today announced the women’s ODI and T20I teams of the year with India's Harmanpreet Kaur being named the captain of the T20 team.

Kaur led the Indian team to semifinals of the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 in November. She scored 183 runs at a strike-rate of 160.5. Kaur is ranked third in the ICC Women's ranking for batting.

New Zealand’s Suzie Bates was selected as captain of the 50-over side.

READ: Mandhana wins ICC ‘Women’s Cricketer’ and ‘ODI Player of the year’ awards

Consistent performance throughout the year meant India's Smriti Mandhana and Poonam Yadav features in both the ODI and the T20 teams. Other players to find places in both the squads are Australia’s Alyssa Healy and Suzie Bates of New Zealand.

Kaur was delighted to be appointed T20 captain. “To be honest, it was really surprising for me. The last two years we did not get enough T20I matches to play and it was really tough for me to build that confidence in the team and show that self-belief that we can do well in T20Is. Credit goes to all team members, the way they worked hard and show that self-belief.

“This award means a lot to me to build my confidence, BCCI is showing confidence on me - that I can do well in the format and I am looking forward to do well in the future,” Kaur said.


ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year (in batting order)
  1. Smriti Mandhana (India)
  2. Tammy Beaumont (England)
  3. Suzie Bates (New Zealand) (captain)
  4. Dane van Niekerk (South Africa)
  5. Sophie Devine (New Zealand)
  6. Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper)
  7. Marizanne Kapp (South Africa)
  8. Deandra Dottin (Windies)
  9. Sana Mir (Pakistan)
  10. Sophie Ecclestone (England)
  11. Poonam Yadav (India)


The two sides were selected by members of the media and broadcasters and took into consideration player performances in the 2018 calendar year.

The 11-member women’s ODI side comprises players from seven countries, including two each from England (Tammy Beaumont and Sophie Ecclestone), India (Smriti Mandhana and Poonam Yadav), New Zealand (Suzie Bates and Sophie Devine) and South Africa (Dane van Niekerk and Marizanne Kapp), and one player each from Australia (Alyssa Healy), Pakistan (Sana Mir) and Deandra Dottin (the Windies).

The T20I side has players from five countries, including four players from the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 champions Australia (Alyssa Healy, Ellyse Perry, Ashleigh Gardner and Megan Schutt), three players from India (Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur and Poonam Yadav), two players from New Zealand (Suzie Bates and Leigh Kasperek) and one player each from Bangladesh (Rumana Ahmed) and England (Natalie Sciver).


ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year (in batting order):
  1. Smriti Mandhana (India)
  2. Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper)
  3. Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
  4. Harmanpreet Kaur (India) (captain)
  5. Natalie Sciver (England)
  6. Ellyse Perry (Australia)
  7. Ashleigh Gardner (Australia)
  8. Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand)
  9. Megan Schutt (Australia)
  10. Rumana Ahmed (Bangladesh)
  11. Poonam Yadav (India)


Voting members: Melinda Farrell, Melanie Jones, Lisa Sthalekar (all Australia), Charlotte Edwards, Kalika Mehta (both England), Anjum Chopra, Snehal Pradhan (both India), Lesley Murdoch (New Zealand), Urooj Mumtaz (Pakistan), Natalie Germanos (South Africa), Alan Wilkins (Wales) Ian Bishop (West Indies).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :