New Zealand to begin ICC Test Championship with tour of Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka Cricket on Friday announced that New Zealand will play two Tests in the island nation as a part of ICC's inaugural World Test Championship in August.

New Zealand will play two Tests and three T20Is in its tour of Sri Lanka in August-September.   -  Getty Images

Sri Lanka will host New Zealand between August and September for two Test matches and three Twenty20 internationals, the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) said on Friday.

The Tests are part of the inaugural World Test Championship which involves the nine top-ranked Test nations competing in a league between July 2019 and April 2021, with the top two teams progressing to the final to be held in England in June 2021.

“The New Zealand national team will arrive in Sri Lanka on the August 3, 2019 to take part in a cricket series,” the SLC said in a statement.

“During the tour, New Zealand will play two Test matches and three T20 games.”

READ | Malinga becomes joint third-highest wicket-taker in World Cups

New Zealand will be the first team to tour Sri Lanka since the Easter Sunday suicide bombings that killed 253 people in the island nation.

The bombings led to Sri Lanka postponing a tour of Pakistan's Under-19 team, which was scheduled to play two four-day matches and three one-dayers in Galle and Hambantota.

The last time Sri Lanka hosted New Zealand was in 2012, with the two-Test series ending 1-1.

The teams are currently at the 2019 World Cup in England and Wales, with the Kiwis securing their fourth semifinal spot while Sri Lanka is out of the running and has one more group game against India on Saturday.

Tour Schedule

August 14-18 - First Test, Galle

August 22-26 - Second Test, Colombo

August 31 - 1st T20I, Colombo,

September 2 - 2nd T20I, Colombo

September 6 - 3rd T20I, Pallekele

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :