Updates: Australia wins rain-hit thriller, beats India by 4 runs

Catch the ball-by-ball commentary of the first India vs Australia T20 cricket match from The Gabba in Brisbane.

Shikhar Dhawan scored a brilliant 42-ball 76 in the first T20I against Australia.   -  GETTY IMAGES

Hello and welcome to Sportstar's live coverage of the first India vs Australia T20I at The Gabba in Brisbane on Wednesday.

Toss update: India wins toss, elects to bowl first.


India has won its previous seven T20I series dating back to November 2017, and its last defeat in the format was against West Indies in July last year.

Australian cricket, in contrast, has been dogged by structural reform in the wake of the ball-tampering saga in South Africa in March and it has resulted in turbulence on the field as well.

Read: India starts favourite against weakened, unsettled Australia


Australia: D'Arcy Short, Aaron Finch (c), Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Ben McDermott, Alex Carey (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Billy Stanlake, Ashton Agar, Adam Zampa.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Lokesh Rahul, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, K. Khaleel Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal.