India vs Australia: Shami, Ashwin put India in charge

Shami and Ashwin ran through Australia's top-order before a stodgy partnership between Travis Head and Shaun Marsh thwarted India's surge briefly.

Shami bagged two wickets to peg Australia back at the fag end of day four.   -  getty images

The first Test is still in the balance but Kohli’s men are a wee-bit ahead. At the third day’s close, India posted 151 for three in its second innings and has an overall lead of 166. | Day 3 Report

The Master Blaster has been one of the prolific scorers in Australia. What does Sachin Tendulkar think of the India Australia series? Click here to read the interview.

The teams (from)

India (Playing XI): Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami.

Australia (Playing 11): Tim Paine (captain), Marcus Harris, Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon and Josh Hazlewood.

Umpires: Nigel Llong and Kumar Dharmasena; Third Umpire: Chris Gaffaney; Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle.

Start of play: 10.30 a.m. local time, 5.30 a.m. IST.