India vs Australia, 1st Test Day 1: India bounces back after Pujara ton

Cheteshwar Pujara's gritty century helped India fight back after a top-order collapse to end the first day's play at 250 for 9.

Cheteshwar Pujara consolidated India's innings after a top-order collapse.   -  AP

A tantalising series for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy awaits its riveting opening frame as India takes on spirited Australia. Catch the preview of the match here.

The Master Blaster has been one of the prolific scorers in Australia. What does Sachin Tendulkar think of the India Australia series. Click here to read the interview.

The teams (from)

India (Playing XI): Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami.

Australia (Playing 11): Tim Paine (captain), Marcus Harris, Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon and Josh Hazlewood.

Umpires: Nigel Llong and Kumar Dharmasena; Third Umpire: Chris Gaffaney; Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle.

Start of play: 10.30 a.m. local time, 5.30 a.m. IST.