India announces women's squad for home series against South Africa

Mithali Raj will captain the team in the 50-over series while Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the side in the T20Is. Shikha Pandey left out of the side.

Published : Feb 27, 2021 14:14 IST

The first of the five ODIs will be played on March 7- AP
The first of the five ODIs will be played on March 7- AP

The first of the five ODIs will be played on March 7- AP

India has announced an 18-women squad to take on South Africa in the five-match ODI and three-match T20I series, beginning in Lucknow from March 7.

Veteran Mithali Raji will lead the ODI team with Harmanpreet Kaur as her deputy. The T20I squad will be led by Kaur while Smriti Mandhana has been appointed as the vice-captain. Sushma Verma makes a comeback to both the ODI and T20I squads, replacing Taniya Bhatia.


Seasoned campaigner medium pacer Shikha Pandey was dropped from the side. Even Shafali Verma was not picked in the ODI side. Shafali has so far featured in 19 T20 internationals.

The South Africa women’s cricket team will reach Lucknow on Saturday. The teams are likely to play a warm-up game before the ODI series gets underway. It will be the first international cricket India women will play since the T20 World Cup final a year ago

The five ODIs will take place first, on March 7, 9, 12, 14 and 17. The three T20Is will then be held on March 20, 21 and 24.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment