Quick guide to India's head coach selection process

As the Kapil Dev-led Cricket Advisory Committee meets in Mumbai on Friday to select India's next head coach, Sportstar brings you a quick guide to the selection process.

(Clockwise from left): Ravi Shastri, Tom Moody, Lalchand Rajput, Mike Hesson, Phil Simmons and Robin Singh.   -  GETTY IMAGES

Who is selecting the coach?

The head coach will be selected by a three-member Cricket Advisory Committee, comprising Kapil Dev, Anshuman Gaekwad and Shantha Rangaswamy. The support staff will be selected by the national selection committee headed by MSK Prasad.

What are the credentials of the committee members

All the three members of the panel are former India cricketers. Kapil Dev is India’s 1983 World Cup-winning captain, who has also served as the coach from 1999-2000. Gaekwad, a former India batsman has previously served as the coach for two terms and has also been a national selector. Rangaswamy, former India captain, has previously been the chief national selector for women’s team and has also been a coach.

READ: Ravi Shastri frontrunner to be India’s head coach

Who are in the fray?

Ravi Shastri, Lalchand Rajput, Robin Singh, Mike Hesson, Tom Moody, Phil Simmons.

Who will make the announcement and when?

The CAC will zero in on the candidate and inform the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators, which has to give the final approval. The announcement could be made either on Friday evening or within a couple of days.

READ: Team India coach contenders: How the six CVs stack up

Who is the current coach?

Ravi Shastri is the current head coach of the Indian team. He is assisted by support staff -- batting coach, bowling coach, fielding coach, fitness trainers.

When did his term end?

Shastri, who took charge in 2017, got a 45-day extension after his term ended after the World Cup last month. The tour to West Indies will be his last assignment under the current contract.

Who have coached the Indian team earlier?

1990-1991: Bishan Singh Bedi

1991-1992: Abbas Ali Baig

1992-1996: Ajit Wadekar

1996: Sandeep Patil

1996-1997: Madan Lal

1997-1999: Anshuman Gaekwad

1999-2000: Kapil Dev

2000-2000: Anshuman Gaekwad

2000-2005: John Wright

2005-2007: Greg Chappell

2007-2011: Gary Kirsten

2011-2015: Duncan Fletcher

2014-2016: Ravi Shastri (team director)

2016-2017: Anil Kumble

2017 onwards: Ravi Shastri

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :