Imperious India blows NZ away, forces series decider

Krunal Pandya and Khaleel Ahmed set up the win for India with economic spells.

Rohit Sharma took India off to a quick start with a 29-ball 50.   -  Getty Images


India won the second Twenty20 International by seven wickets and with seven balls to spare.

2:47pm India levels the series with a seven-wicket win in the second T20I. Rishabh Pant finishes unbeaten on 40, while M. S. Dhoni too remains unbeaten with 20.

2:34pm India is well in control of the chase. It is 135 for three, needs 24 more runs from 24 balls with Rishabh Pant and M. S. Dhoni in the middle.

2:24pm Vijay Shankar holes out just when his partnership with Rishabh Pant was blossoming. He is out for 14, India 122 for three, needs a further 37 runs from 37 balls. Pant has been joined by M. S. Dhoni.

2:10pm One brings two for New Zealand! A nippy bouncer from Lockie Ferguson hurries Shikhar Dhawan and he can only fend at the lifter, the ball balloons up in the air for the point fielder to take an easy catch. India 88 for two, needs 71 more runs to win from nine overs.

1:57pm Rohit Sharma reached his 16th fifty in Twenty20 International and overtook Martin Guptill to become the highest run-scorer in the format, but holed out to deep midwicket off the bowling of Ish Sodhi immediately after. India 79 for one after 9.2 overs, needs a further 80 runs.

1:45pm Shikhar Dhawan drives down the ground to long on and brings up India's 50. India 50 for no less at the end of the Powerplay. It needs 109 more runs from 14 overs to win.

1:33pm India off to a good start in its chase of 159. Rohit Sharma has began briskly, cutting Tim Southee for a four before authoritatively pulling Lockie Ferguson for a six. India 21 for no loss after three overs. Shikhar Dhawan has been sedate so far.

1:11pm New Zealand sets India 159 for a series-levelling win.

12:40pm Colin de Grandhomme and Ross Taylor set New Zealand up nicely for the final five overs with their unbeaten 71-run partnership. New Zealand 121 for four after 15 overs.

12:26pm Colin de Grandhomme has hit four sixes in the last two overs, providing fresh impetus to the New Zealand innings. His onslaught has brought 37 runs off the last two overs, taking the Blackcaps to 97 for four after 12 overs.

12:18pm New Zealand 60 for four after 10 overs. Ross Taylor and Colin de Grandhomme looking to rebuild while India tries to rush through the overs.

12:11pm Krunal Pandya strikes again! Kane Williamson plays across the line and is struck in front of the stumps. No hesitation for the umpire, he departs for 20. New Zealand 50 for four, Colin de Grandhomme is the new batsman in.

11:59am A double strike from Krunal Pandya in the final Powerplay over — removing Colin Munro and Daryl Mitchell — puts India right on top. New Zealand 43 for three. Kane Williamson has been joined by Ross Taylor.

11:45am Bhuvneshwar Kumar has given India the early breakthrough of Tim Seifert. A length ball gets the under edge of Seifert's blade and goes through to M. S. Dhoni at a nice height. Gone for 12. New Zealand 26 for one in the fourth over.

Kane Williamson wins the toss and opts to bat first. Both teams are unchanged.