Ind vs NZ 3rd T20: Karthik, Krunal blitz in vain as NZ seals series

Dinesh Karthik and Krunal Pandya's pyrotechnics went in vain as New Zealand clinched the three-match T20I series 2-1.

Krunal Pandya struck a 13-ball 26 to take India closer to victory in the third and final T20I in Hamilton.   -  getty images


Good afternoon, welcome to Sportstar's live coverage of the third Twenty20 International between India and New Zealand.


Krunal Pandya and Dinesh Karthik raised India's hopes with a slew of lusty blows at the death but a 28-ball 63 run partnership between the duo could not prevent New Zealand from clinching the third T20I by four runs and with it, the three-match T20I series 2-1.

Chasing 213 to win, India rode on breezy knocks from Vijay Shankar and Rishabh Pant to stay in the hunt.Pant's dismissal, however, saw the visitor lose three wickets in quick succession before Karthik and Krunal revived hopes of a come-from-behind win.

Periodic updates

3:52pm Karthik declines a single to Krunal but runs one off the final third ball! India needs 14 off the 3 balls!

3:46pm DK clears the ropes! Karthik gets one in the slot off Scott Kuggeleijn hits it cleanly over the mid-wicket boundary. Kuggeleijn pulls off two slow balls, but Krunal Pandya makes him pay for another slow short ball with a six straight over the bowler's head. India needs 16 off 6 balls

3:41pm Krunal Pandya and Dinesh Karthik have not let New Zealand breathe easy! The duo smashes three huge sixers and two boundaries to bring the equation down to 31 runs from 13.

3:30pm DHONI DISMISSED! We won't be seeing a classic MSD chase! He brings his powerful bottom-hand into play, but is unable to generate enough power to send it over the long-off boundary. It is holed out to Tim Southee. India needs 68 off 28 balls now.

3:24pm PANDYA OUT! Hardik Pandya loses his grip on the bat which goes flying out of his hand and looks for the ball. Kane Williamson at mid-off keeps his eye on the top edge off Scott Kuggeleijn's bowling and takes an easy catch. India's innings which looked set for a record chase looks derailed. Can Dhoni and Dinesh Karthik conjure some magic?

3:22pm ROHIT FALLS! The opening batsman who looked composed in the middle among tumbling wickets, edges one off Daryl Mitchell to the keeper. India 143/4 in 14.2 overs. Dhoni is the new man in.

3:15pm Gone! Pant is lured to hit a flat full-toss from Blair Tickner. The left-hander heaves towards mid-wicket but is unable to connect it properly, Williamson takes a good catch on the edge of the cricle. Hardik Pandya is the new man and starts it with a huge six over the mid-wicket.

3:00pm Rishabh Pant has announced his arrival big time: he has garnered 23 runs off six balls (4, 6, 1, dot, 6, 6). India 108 for two after 10 overs, needs 105 runs from the last 10 overs.

2:51pm A couple of sixes off the eighth over (bowled by Ish Sodhi), both off the blade of Vijay Shankar, takes India to 76 for one.

2:44pm India reaches 57 for one at the end of the Powerplay, needs a further 156 runs in 15 overs. Rohit Sharma batting on 23 and Vijay Shankar is on 24.

2:32pm India lost the wicket of Shikhar Dhawan in the first over, but Vijay Shankar and Rohit Sharma are forging a partnership for the second wicket. Shankar is hitting the ball cleanly. India 32 for one in the fourth over, needs 181 more runs from 98 balls.

2:06pm New Zealand finishes with 212 for four in 20 overs. India needs 213 runs to win the trophy to cap off the tour of the southern hemisphere in style.

1:57pm New Zealand 193 for four in 18.2 overs. Colin de Grandhomme has been dismissed with a fuller ball by Bhuvneshwar Kumar. India, though, staring at a big target here.

1:38pm Wickets off back-to-back overs for India! Kane Williamson perishes, top-edging a slower bouncer from Khaleel Ahmed. He falls for 27, New Zealand 151 for three after 15 overs.

1:30pm OUT! Colin Munro is dismissed for 72. Kuldeep Yadav gets the wicket. A flighted delivery well outside off stump and Munro goes for a heave on the onside, only manages to top edge the ball and Hardik Pandya at long-on takes an easy catch. Hardik completes the catch and throws away the ball in frustration. Livid! New Zealand 138 for two in the 14th over.

1:28pm The 13th over of the innings was eventful! Colin Munro was dropped twice, one a dolly and the other which players at the level are expected to take, Vijay Shankar misfielded a bouncing ball on the midwicket boundary and 16 runs come off the over. New Zealand 134 for one after 13 overs.

1:18pm New Zealand 103 for one after 10 overs. Colin Munro has reached a half-century and is striking the ball cleanly. Kane Williamson has joined him and trying to complement his style.

1:08pm Kuldeep Yadav gives India the first wicket in his first over! He beats Tim Seifert with a wrong'un and M. S. Dhoni dislodges the bails in a flash. Seifert goes for 43, New Zealand 80 for one after 7.4 overs.

1:00pm New Zealand is 66 for no loss at the end of the Powerplay. Krunal Pandya's first over, and the sixth of the innings, taken for 20 runs.

12:31pm No change for either team at the start: Tim Seifert and Colin Munro are the openers. Bhuvneshwar Kumar opens the bowling for India.

Toss: Rohit Sharma, the India captain, has won the toss and chosen to field first.


India playing XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Vijay Shankar, M. S. Dhoni (wk), Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav

New Zealand playing XI: Kane Williamson (c), Tim Seifert (wk), Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Daryl Mitchell, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner