India retain women's squad for World T20

After India's 2-1 win in the T20s for in Australia, the selectors chose to retain the squad for the upcoming World T20.

India defeated Australia for the first time in a bilateral series, in January.   -  Sampath Kumar G. P. (File Photo)

Fresh from a historic series triumph over Australia, the Indian women’s cricket squad was left unchanged for the World Twenty20 Championship to be held in March-April. Mithali Raj will captain the squad in the tournament to be played in India. The Indian women had scripted history by recording their first ever bilateral series triumph against Australia last month.

The team is current playing the ODI series Down Under. Australia lead the three match series 1-0 after winning the first ODI in Canberra by 101 runs.

Indian women’s Team for ICC World T20: Mithali Raj (Capt), Jhulan Goswami, Smriti Mandhana, Veda Krishnamurthy, Harmanpreet Kaur, Shikha Pandey, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Sushma Verma, Poonam Yadav, VR Vanitha, Anuja Patil, Ekta Bisht, Thirushkamini MD, Deepti Sharma, Niranjana Nagarajan.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :