Cricket Australia releases dates for India series, indicates T20 World Cup on schedule

Virat Kohli's men will begin their defence of the Border Gavaskar Trophy in Brisbane from December 3. Adelaide will host the Pink-ball Test from December 11.

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy will begin from December 3.   -  GETTY IMAGES

Cricket Australia on Thursday announced the list of fixtures for the upcoming tour of India. 

It starts with three T20Is, followed by four Tests and three one day internationals. The first T20I will be played at the Gabba on October 11, second at the Manuka Oval on October 14 and third and the final T20I at the Adelaide Oval on October 17.

Virat Kohli's men will begin their defence of the Border Gavaskar Trophy , but only a month and a half later in Brisbane from December 3. The itinerary, in line with the earlier FTP that had been planned with a T20I series preceding the T20 World Cup, indicates that the T20 World Cup window is still open.

READ: ICC to discuss fate of T20 World Cup in board meeting on Thursday

The showpiece event is slated to be held in Australia between October 18 and November 15. The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday had denied reports that the men's T20 World Cup, scheduled to be held in Australia between October 18 and November 15, has been rescheduled to 2022.

READ: Inside cricket’s new bubble!

"The ICC has not taken a decision to postpone the T20 World Cup and preparations are ongoing for the event in Australia this year as per plan," an ICC spokesperson had said.

CA also announced a three-match series between Australia Women and India Women in January, just before the Women's World Cup in New Zealand in February-March. 


Gillette Men’s T20I Series

First T20I: Gabba, Brisbane (October 11) 

Second T20I: Manuka Oval, Canberra (October 14) 

Third T20I: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (October 17)

Men’s Test Series against India

First  Test: Gabba, Brisbane (December 3- 7) 

Second Test (day-night): Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (December 11 - 15)

Third Test: MCG, Melbourne (December 26 - 30) 

Fourth Test: SCG, Sydney (January 3 - 7)

Gillette Men’s ODI Series

First ODI: Perth (January 12) 

Second ODI: MCG, Melbourne (January 15) 

Third ODI: SCG, Sydney (January 17)


First ODI: Manuka Oval, Canberra (January 22) 

Second ODI: Junction Oval, St Kilda (January 25) 

Third ODI: Blundstone Arena, Hobart (January 28).


Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos