Prabhat Maurya replaces Rasikh Salam in India U19 squad

Fast bowler Rasikh Salam has been banned by the BCCI for two years after he submitted a faulty birth certificate to the board.

Rasikh Salam in action for Mumbai Indians in IPL 2019.   -  FILE PHOTO/ VIVEK BENDRE

The All India Junior Selection committee has named Prabhat Maurya as replacement for Rasikh Salam in the India U-19 squad that is set to play a one-day tri-series in England from July 21.

Seam bowler Salam from Jammu and Kashmir has been banned by the BCCI for two years following a discrepancy – submission of faulty birth certificate to BCCI.  

Salam was the youngest to debut for Mumbai Indians at 17 years and 353 days in IPL 2019. The franchise's director of cricket operations and former India pacer, Zaheer Khan handed the cap to the player.

Hailing from Ashmuji village in south Kashmir’s Kulgam district, Salam came on the domestic cricket scene through district-level tournaments and then was spotted by Irfan Pathan, who is now a player-mentor for the Jammu and Kashmir Ranji Trophy team.

The team will leave for England on July 15.

The revised squad is as follows:

Priyam Garg (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Thakur Tilak Verma, Divyansh Saxena, Shaswat Rawat, Dhruv Chand Jurel (WK), Shubhang Hegde, Ravi Bishnoi, Vidyadhar Patil, Sushant Mishra, Prabhat Maurya, Sameer Rizvi, Pragnesh Kanpillewar, Kamran Iqbal, Priyesh Patel (WK), Karan Lal, Purnank Tyagi, Anshul Khamboj

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :