New Zealand hammer India to take 1-0 lead

Chasing a mammoth total of 220 runs to win, India collapsed in a heap to be bowled out for 139.

India were left clueless in the first T20I as New Zealand took a 1-0 lead.   -  AFP

Hello and welcome to Sportstar's live blog of the first T20I between India and New Zealand that's happening in Wellington today!



. It's all over as New Zealand beats India by a massive 80 runs and takes a 1-0 lead in the three-match series. The Kiwis have handed India its biggest loss in T20Is. 

The New Zealand bowlers have ripped apart the Indian top-order. India in deep trouble. 

Dinesh Karthik joins MS Dhoni in the middle.

WICKET - India is losing wickets in a cluster and it's Vijay Shankar who departs. 

.WICKET - That's the end of Rishabh Pant as Mitchell Santner cleans him up. India in trouble.

.WICKET - Shikhar Dhawan's brief cameo comes to an end as Ferguson castles him with a toe-crushing yorker.

. WICKET- Rohit Sharma perishes as he tries to pull Tim Southee but lacked timing as the fielder from deep square runs in to take a fine catch. India 18/1

Shikhar Dhawan blazes away as he smokes Scott Kuggeleijn for back-to-back sixes and then muscles a boundary.

∙ Rohit is off the mark and so as India chasing a record total of 220.

The Indian openers are out there in the middle and it will be Rohit Sharma on strike.  Tim Southee to start proceedings for New Zealand.

New Zealand ends its innings 219/6, with Tim Seifert's 84 (43b) the highlight. Can the Indian batsmen respond in kind or will the pressure of chasing a 200+ score get to them? We'll find out soon.

WICKET! Flurry of wickets as Ross Taylor departs now. Caught by Khaleel Ahmed off Bhuvneshwar Kumar. New Zealand is 191/9 after 18.1 overs.

WICKET! Colin de Grandhomme departs after Mohammad Siraj takes a stunning catch at deep square leg. He goes for 3 and New Zealand is 189/5 after 17.5 overs.

WICKET! Back-to-back dismissals for India. Yuzvendra Chahal dismisses skipper Kane Williamson after Hardik Pandya takes a good catch at midwicket. New Zealand 164/4 after 15.1 overs. Two new batsmen at the crease and four overs left. Can India finally stem the flow of runs?

WICKET! Dinesh Karthik pulls off a stunner on the boundary line. Catches the ball, lobs it back before stepping past the ropes and then came back into the field to redeemed himself after the error earlier. Daryl Mitchell departs and New Zealand is 164/4 after 15 overs.

WICKET! Tim Seifert's blitzkreig comes to an end. Khaleel Ahmed rattles the offstump and picks up an important wicket. Tim Seifert 84 (off 43 balls; 4s-7, 6s-6) departs and New Zealand is 134/2 after 12.4 overs.

Dinesh Karthik, coming in from long-on, drops Tim Seifert! That could come back to bite India by the end of the innings. He's dropped on 73 off 39 balls.

STAT: Hardik and Krunal Pandya are the third pair of brothers to feature together in the same team for India in limited overs. Mohinder and Surinder Amarnath were the first pair to do so with Irfan and Yusuf Pathan the more recent ones.

WICKET! As Tim Seifert brings up his maiden T20 half century, India makes a breakthrough. Krunal Pandya dismisses Colin Munro for 34. New Zealand 86/1. This is the third highest partnership for the Kiwis vs India in T20 matches.

It's the Pandya brothers' show right now and not the kind India is hoping for. Krunal gives away 10 runs from his first over and Hardik follows him by conceding 12 in his first over of the day. At the end of the powerplay, New Zealand is 66/0 from 6 overs.

After 5 overs, New Zealand is 54 without loss. Colin Munro 30 (14b; 4s-2, 6s-2) and Tim Seifert 24 (16b; 4s-1, 6s-2) are at the crease.

Comfortable start for New Zealand, with Colin Munro (16 off 10) and Tim Seifert (12 off 8) picking their shots well.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar gave away just four runs in the opening over while Khaleel Ahmed concedes nine runs in the second. New Zealand 13/0 after two overs.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar to open the bowling for India, with Colin Munro and Tim Seifert opening the innings for New Zealand.

TOSS: Rohit Sharma has won the toss and India is going to field first.


With skipper Virat Kohli being rested, the Rohit Sharma-led squad will be hoping it has enough left in the tank to record a maiden T20 series win in New Zealand, following a record 4-1 result in ODIs and a historic tour of Australia.

Young wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant, who was not part of the ODIs, returns hungrier and has a big opportunity to stake a claim for a World Cup spot in the upcoming three T20s. The Pandya brothers will be together in India colours for the first time while all three wicketkeepers in the squad feature in the playing XI.


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner, James Neesham.

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, Shubman Gill, Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya, Mohammad Siraj.